Looking back at 2015 – bookish edition

Hey guys!

Welcome to 2016! Last year wasn’t amazing life-wise but I had the most incredible reading year! I never ever read so many books in 365 days. So, here’s a little retrospective and stats.

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 18.40.32

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 18.40.32 copyScreen Shot 2016-01-01 at 18.40.48

Courtesy of Goodreads.

So, I read 82 books last year! I was aiming for 50, a goal I couldn’t reach last year. Since I discovered the wonders of e-books, my reading pace just boomed! So I ended up reading 32 more books than what I was anticipating. You know, no biggie!

One of my ultimate goals too was to read more books written by women. My readings were mostly a sausage fest and there were so many amazing books written by women that I thought it was finally time to get to it! In general, this year was incredible for equality and diversity, and I’m glad my readings reflect that too. 44 books I read were written by women or had the involvement of one in the creative team! My memory is terrible at times but from what I can remember 21 of the books have canonically queer characters (main and secondary)! Also, at least 15 had a POC as main character. There’s still a lot of room for improvement but it’s definitely a step forward, at least in comparison to last year!

But not everything in this reading year was successful. I kinda failed in reading more foreign authors aka writers who aren’t from the UK or America. Very little of these books were written by foreigners. I guess this is something to work on 2016.

I already posted my favourites books of the year and you can check it out here.

Have you reached your goals for 2015? In case you had any to start with! Any special goals to 2016?

See you next time!

Cat.

3 thoughts on “Looking back at 2015 – bookish edition

Leave a Reply

