Book Review #63 – Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard

Hey guys!

Here’s my review for a big surprise from last year, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Buy this book from Book Depository

_MG_4675

_MG_4673

I got this book as a present for my birthday and after the crazy mixed reviews that I’ve read, I decided to read it right away.

Mare Borrow lives in a word basically divided into two factions, based on the colour of their blood: the red and the silver. The last ones are powerful, having amazing powers, while the red are just common and poor people. But when Mare’s life changes and she becomes a servant for the Silver, she realizes she isn’t quite who she thinks she is. And on top of that, a revolution break!

This book got me hooked right at the beginning. I don’t really know how to explain it but the writing is just fascinating. It isn’t intricate or even full of particular traits but I was so into it. The author gives Mare an awesome, individual voice, which I couldn’t stay neutral to.

The main criticism I see for this book is that it doesn’t bring anything new to the table. I can’t say that I agree. Maybe I haven’t read that many YA fantasy books. Of course that, at this point in time, it’s practically impossible to do anything new. It’s hard to create new worlds, new twists, new traits and powers. I think the author takes incredibly creative things and puts them together, creating a really entertaining book.

It is not a flawless book, by any changes. Not many are. The love triangle is exhausting and a bit unnecessary, as they tend to be. Regarding the big plot twist, I didn’t see it coming but I guess I wasn’t totally interested in trying to figure it out. If you are, maybe you can see it a thousand miles away.

I loved the villains, the most evident ones and the other one. I loved the powers and the action scenes related to them, they were beautifully written. The characters are all really deep and interesting. Mare, even though she’s the main one, is probably the less fascinating. My favourite part was by far the world. I want to know more about it, how humanity evolved in two different ways, how the powers merge between lineages, how the segregation really happened, etc. I need a prequel, ok?! I know there are some novellas out now, but honestly I haven’t had time to even look into them, to see what they’re about.

Besides, this book is so filled with badass ladies! They’re all so powerful, soΒ inspiring! They have wonderful traits, which I envy deeply!

I just loved this book, really. I cannot wait to get my hands on the sequel, asap. I’m more curious to see the revolution, instead of Mare’s particular story but I’m excited either way. I hope it’s a good one!

So, what did you think of this? I want to discuss it!!

Here’s my favourite quote:

It’s our nature. We destroy. It’s the constant of our kind. No matter the color of blood, man will always fall.

See you next time,

Cat.

12 thoughts on “Book Review #63 – Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I’m with you on not being to stay neutral to Mare’s point of view, and with the lobe triangle. It’s SO UNNECESSARY. And the powers!!! Omg, they’re great! The world is entertaining as well πŸ™‚ — Great review, Cat!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. I completely agree with your review 110%. This book wasn’t flawless by any means, but it was so darn entertaining and action-packed. So excited for the sequel! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review. ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

