Book Review #64 – Love Letters to the Dead, by Ava Dellaira

Hello guys!

Oh boy, I have been really MIA lately, haven’t I? Well, school is the only one to blame really. But now the semester is over and I have a lot of reviews and other stuff to post! So, be prepared!!

Here’s my review for Love Letter to the Dead, by Ava Dellaira. Mild spoilers below!

18140047

Buy this book from Book Depository

I’ve seen this book over on Tumblr a million times and I really love the color scheme on the cover. The synopsis seemed interesting enough so I gave it a try.

Laurel lost her sister, May, recently and, as an exercise for school, she starts writing letters to deceased famous people. The first one is to Kurt Cobain, May’s idol.

Me and this book did not got along well. I don’t generally mind the epistolary format but in here it was just boring. Every chapter begins with Laurel addressing the person who she’s writing to, making a little casual “bio” of them. I know the author shouldn’t just assume the reader knows who that celebrity is but after a couple of letter, this just gets boring as hell.

And nothing really happens in this book. Like, literally nothing. Besides going to school and talking to each other, all the characters live the most regular and uneventful life. I know that you can only do as much in contemporary YA fiction but damn, at least you can write something interesting and still normal. I also really didn’t like the whole lesbian friends plot. One is the typical girl in love and the other is the one who keeps dating boys to hide her true sexuality? It seemed a bit to stereotypical. This is a problem I’ve had for a while with LGBTQ movies and I now have it with books too.

I also came to a conclusion. Maybe books with suicides, mental illnesses and sexual abuse in general just aren’t for me. I don’t think I have the stomach to deal with the romanticised portrait that authors seem to do. I might be too sensitive, I don’t know. I get so angry and frustrated. There’s nothing lovely about being depressed or wanting to take your own life. Please say it with me.

I don’t have much to say about this book because it’s honestly so underwhelming. The plot is boring, the characters are uninteresting and kind of dumb at times. It was a serious let down.

I think I’m going to try to stay way from this genre of books (I know I said it before but I’m being real this time). I have no interest or heart for them really. I trusted so much on Stephen Chbosky’s, the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, opinion because he is the mentor of Dellaira and this book but that only increased my letdown more.

But did you guys read this book? And did you enjoy it? Let me know bellow!

See you next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #64 – Love Letters to the Dead, by Ava Dellaira

  1. If I’m remembering I think I enjoyed this book. I’m sure though that I were to read Love Letters to the Dead again, I would agree with you about this book. There’s nothing substantial that happens in this book. We only get the after of Laurel; seeing her after her sisters death.

    Great review though Cat! ^-^

    Like

Leave a Reply

