Book Review #67 – Bossypants, by Tina Fey

Hey you!

I haven’t read that much non-fiction but I recently picked up one again! Here’s my review for Bossypants, by Tina Fey.

Buy any edition of this book from Book Depository

5b3d42283b0bb6bf617a0dffea7ed116

I have a pattern. When I start a new show and it stars a female comedian, I’m going to immediately want to read her memoirs/auto-biography. So, as soon as 30 Rock was available on Netflix, I checked Bossypants out of the library!

Tina Fey is a Pennsylvania native comedian, known for her work on Saturday Night Live (specially for the constant parody of american politician, Sarah Palin), the tv show 30 Rock and her many movies with her BFF, Amy Poehler (whose book I also read and reviewed).

The most important events in Fey’s life are told here. Besides the SNL and 30 Rock bits, I wasn’t really aware of any of thing she tells. I loved the various backstage stories and other small details of her crazy lifestyle. We often forget how human these people we are used to meet only trough a screen really are. It’s reassuring to know that they’re insecure and flawed like everyone else (and this isn’t meant as an insult in any way).
What I most enjoy about these kinds of books is the humour, of course, and the good message they try to transmit, specially to girls. There’s a lot of experiences on how to deal with parents, the different ways men and women act (more focused on comedy, of course), being a parent and just looking like a girl.

This is also very well written but that I was expecting. But, some chapters seem a bit out of place. I’m not sure the organisation of the book is the best, things seem kind of random at some points. My main problem with it was the ending, though. It’s so abrupt and weird. It didn’t feel like a closing at all. I’m not really sure what happened there.

I laughed out loud constantly, although I never once felt like the jokes/humour were forced. Fey isn’t constantly trying to please the reader, even though she does a pretty good job at entertain it! The old photos were also pure gold. Fashion has been such a weird thing through time!

This was a great feel-good and fun read. I would definitely recommend. There’s no need to really know Fey’s work to really enjoy this, although I guess that’s always a plus. I definitely should read more books of this kind, they always leave me with a nice taste in my mouth. Do you guys have any recommendations?

Here’s a quote I particularly enjoyed:

If you retain nothing else, always remember the most important rule of beauty, which is: who cares?

See you next time,

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #67 – Bossypants, by Tina Fey

  1. I loved this book!, it got me to read so many autobiographies! I will say it did help me by listening to the book instead of reading it! Listening to the author telling you stories about their life, it brings it to life a tad more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

