ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #35 – Batgirl Vol.2, Family Business by Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher and Babs Tarr

Hello guys!

I know what you’re thinking. Another graphic novel review?! Yup, I know! That’s all I’ve been reading lately to be honest! But this will be my last in a while so don’t worry! πŸ˜€

Anyway, here’s my review for Batgirl Vol.2, Family Business by Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher and Babs Tarr!!

Buy this book from Book Depository

STK694083

I only very recently started this comic book series (you can see my review for Vol.1 here) but I couldn’tΒ resist it when I saw they were giving out arcs! I was accepted and here we are!

Vol.2 of this series continues to follow the life of Barbara Gordon (Babs for short) as a normal young adult girl and vigilante, Batgirl. This book focus on the appearance of a new “version” of Batman, the resurgence of Dick Grayson (also known as Robin) and the wedding of one of Babs’ best friends.

In general, when a super-hero comic comes out in TPB, it means there’s some kind of big arc connecting the whole story. That can be a big villain or some character progression. Well, that doesn’t really happen here. Like I said in the summary, there’s three main plots and they don’t really connect. I didn’t really mind this for one hand but I did feel some kind of lack of unity between the whole book.

Although,Β I didn’t find anything off with this title! I mean, in the first one, somethings seemed a bit weird. I still don’t know what that was. Maybe I needed to get used to the writing style. But that was not a problem with Vol.2!

The characters are all amazing and it was nice to be introduced to some new. And see the progression of the old ones, of course! Babs is still my favourite. She’s beautiful, smart, funny and a badass! Just my kind of girl. She’s probably one of new favourite super heroes now. I love everything she stands for. Yeah, she can seem a little too perfect but believe me, that girl has flaws too.

There’s an art change in one of the issues and honestly, why?! I hate when they just change artists in the middle of something. Stop it. Tarr has such a unique and beautiful style, I wouldn’t change it for the world. Every single one of her panels is a masterpiece. The characters are all so lovely and unique. I love how they’re so similarly drawn but yet so different from each other. And again, the action sequences are so perfect! Every single on of the panels is flawless and Barbara’s moves are awesome! There’s a lot of female villains, which I loved. Their character design is always sooooo cool! I know they’re bad guys but I want to be their friends. I mean, I would love to live in a world drawn by Tarr!

This book left meΒ with a lot of promise and curiosity to continue this series! The ending is really strange, I didn’t get so I want to know what the hell is going on?? Like, now please?! Once again, at the end of this title there’s a couple of character studies, which I really enjoyed!

Click in the link above, near the image, to get this title today! I promise it’s a very good one.

See you next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

