Road to the Oscars – Nominated movies based on books

Hello guys!

The 2016 Oscars are coming up! I have not read any of these books but in preparation for the ceremony, here’s a few titles that inspired some of the nominees for this year!

oscars.jpg

  • Brooklyn, by Colm Tóibín

Like the movie, the Colm Tóibín book tells the story of Eilis, a girl from Ireland who decides to go to America to find a better life for herself.

The movie is very lovely, with a great performance from Saiorse Ronan and many other great actors. It’s a very hear-warming tale!

  • The Revenant: A Novel of Revenge, by Michael Punke

Although I think there’s a few differences between the movie and the book, both tell the tale of Hugh Glass, a frontiersman who is left for dead after a bear attack and it’s driven by one thing: revenge.

I have to say that I wasn’t too impressed by this movie. I’m not a big fan of Iñarritu’s directing choices so those long sequences with only one shot give me headaches! Besides, I found it kind of boring in the middle and extremely underwhelming in general (and DiCaprio’s performance isn’t that spectacular, sorry).

  • The Price of Salt, by Patricia Highsmith

You may be confused! But don’t worry, although this book has a different title it was always know as Carol too! This is the story of a normal girl whose life takes a huge turn when she meets an older woman going through a rough divorce.

This is the only movie in this selection I haven’t seen yet although I will do so tonight! The reviews are very good so I’m excited! I’m excited to see if this is going to be a lesbian movie without any cheating involved (that’s my biggest pet peeves when it comes to filmes about gay couples).

  • Room, by Emma Donoghue

Jack is a 5 year old boy and he has only ever known Room, a place where he and his mom live, imprisoned.  When they escape, the real world becomes the big challenge.

This is one of those right-in-the-feels typical Oscar movie. Yeah, the performances were great but I personally thought that something was missing. It’s meant to be a touching film yet it didn’t hit me where it should.

  • The Martian, by Andy Weir

Mark Watney is part of a crew assigned to a Mars space mission. During a storm, his team thinks of him dead so they just escape the planet, leaving the poor botanist behind. This book tells how he plans on surviving and escaping the red planet.

This is probably one of my favourite movies from last year. It’s so unexpectedly funny and entertaining. The cast is spot on and I have a thing for all Ridley Scott movies. I’m very disappointed that I haven’t picked the book yet, since it’s been on my TBR for a very very long time. But nothing I won’t be able to do soon!

There are a lot more nominees inspired by books, this is only a small selection! There’s not a lot of time to read these but you can still watch the movies! And let me know if you have indeed read the books, I want to get my hands on some of them!!

See you next time,

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Road to the Oscars – Nominated movies based on books

  1. I want to get my hands on all these books! They all seem so moving and powerful 🙂 Out of this list, I’ve only watched the Martian and I loved it! ITs suspenseful and hilarious and interesting – I NEED THE BOOK 😄

    Great post, definitely need to watch these sometime!

    Like

  2. I’ve seen The Revenant but haven’t read the book. I kind of agree with you about the movie. It was so hyped up, that I was expecting something great, and I ended up a bit disappointed.
    I have read Room but haven’t seen the movie as it is not out yet in France. The book made me incredibly uncomfortable, so I’m a bit anxious about seeing the movie.
    I read and saw The Martian. It’s great! I really recommend you to pick up the book, because a lot more happens in it than in the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

