Book Review #73 – The Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami

Hello guys!

Today’s review is going to be about The Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami.

Get this title from Book Depository

_MG_5013

Murakami is by far one of my favourite authors ever. I never though I would be into his books until I read them but now I can’t imagine my life without having experienced his worlds. Haruki Murakami’s books have completely changed me. I love their magic and apparent nonsense full of meaning.

This book tells the story of a boy who goes to the library because he wonders how taxes were collected in the Ottoman Empire. He is led to a particular room, where he is taken prisoner until he knows everything about the subject.

_MG_5015

The synopsis of this book is weird. But of course, nothing I wouldn’t expect from the man himself. Although, I can’t say this is the best Murakami story I’ve read. It’s perfectly fitting of what he usually does. At the same time, it just doesn’t really stand out to me. It felt like something different but still something very Murakami. Maybe he’s style is more translatable in longer stories, I’m not sure.

I still really liked this but I just couldn’t love it. The protagonist is the typical Murakami boy that I love. There’s a mysterious and fascinating girl. There’s a creepy bad guy. There’s even a real surrealist world that will never be explain to the reader. It had everything I usually love in his books but I just wasn’t crazy about how they were use in this short story.

What I did adore about this was the way chosen to tell the story. Besides the usual text, there’s a few illustrations, photos and typographic images used. You read them as one. The symbiosis between the text and the images is so perfect. This was the first book of the kind that I’ve read and it made the experience so much more enjoyable. I was completely emerged in that world, all due to the visuals.

_MG_5019

I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to start reading Haruki Murakami’s books. It’s a good example of his work and a beautiful book to look at. It’s not too weird or with a too-much complicated world, which is perfect for any initiates.

Here’s a quote I enjoyed:

At the same time, my anxiety had turned into an anxiety quite lacking in anxiousness. And any anxiety that is not especially anxious is, in the end, an anxiety hardly worth mentioning.

Have you guys read it? Tell me your thoughts on it!

See you next time,

Cat.

3 thoughts on “Book Review #73 – The Strange Library, by Haruki Murakami

Leave a Reply

