Books On TV #2

Hello guys!

Once again, I bring you a list of several tv shows that are inspired in books!

bannerbookontv2

  • The Walking Dead, tv show airing on AMC and book by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore and Charlie Adlard

Either you live under a rock or you know about this show. I watched it until season three and stopped. I’m all about zombies but then it just started being ridiculous and I couldn’t bring myself to continue watching it. Still, at this point, it’s one of the most popular tv shows airing right now!

The show and the graphic novels follow Rick Grimes as he leads a group of survivors in a post-apocalitic zombie filled world, while they have to fight the dead and the living. From what I can understand, the show is just somewhat faithful to the books, having some of the same characters and storylines but changing both a bit other times.

  • Pretty Little Liars, tv show airing on ABC Family and book by Sara Shepard

I never watched this show/read these books because it doesn’t really look like my thing but I was really surprised when I found out it was inspired in a book series! And a lot of my friends love it so it’s definitely popular!

The show pretty much followed the books until the story run out and the network wanted more material to continue airing the show. It all started when the “leader” of a group of girls disappeared and the rest of the clique started getting threats from a mysterious person calling themselves A. This is a mystery/thriller story.

  • Dexter, tv show aired on Showtime and book by Jeff Lindsay

Dexter has been one of my favourite shows of all time (until the last few seasons where things just got really non-sensical). I have a thing for real life serial killers, they’re just so fascinating in their motives and pasts! But I couldn’t also resists this fictional killer. I only read the second book, because baby Cat didn’t understand how series worked and got that book without knowing there was a first one! I never got around to read the whole series but from what I did get from that book I read, the premise is similar to the tv show but the plot itself it very different.

Dexter is a blood pattern analyst working for the Miami police department. Oh, and on the side, he’s also a serial killer inclined to end the lives of criminals. The show had 8 seasons and ended on 2013 (with one of the worst finales in history, imo).

  • Masters of Sex, tv show aired on Showtime and book by Thomas Maier

I really like the premise of this series but for some reason I never got to watch it. I’m not a very period drama person, guess that’s the reason. The tv show is only loosely based on the biography of William Masters and Virginia Johnson written by Maier but I decided to include this in the list too since the show has a lot of positive reviews.

Both works follow the story of Masters and Johnson, a couple who revolutionised the way human sexuality is viewed with their research during the twentieth century.

  • The Strain, tv show airing on FX and book by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan

As this was being advertised, I really wanted to see it. I absolutely love del Toro’s work and the whole series seemed promising. However, the reviews weren’t so great and, having so much to see either way, I never picked this up.

Both tv and book series follow a man responsible of the Center for Disease Control Canary Team in New York City while his team is contacted to investigate an outbreak of a vampire strain!

That’s it guys! These are some of my recommendations so far, but there’s others to come soon! Please let me know your thoughts on any of these tv shows or books!

See you soon,

Cat.

 

Leave a Reply

