ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #36 – Black Canary Vol.1, Kicking and Screaming by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu

Hello hello!

Today’s review is about Black Canary Vol.1, Kicking and Screaming by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu.

Buy this book from Book Depository

25810137

Due to Netgalley, I’ve been reading a lot of DC titles. This is not a bad thing at all, considering that I’ve been loving them all!

This book particularly follows Dinah Lance, also known as Black Canary, an ass kicking martial arts expert with a powerful sonic scream. Now she’s trading her past as a vigilante to be the lead singer of a band. Bad thing is, trouble doesn’t seem to leave them be!

You may know Black Canary from the tv show Arrow but I can guarantee you this version of her is nothing like the one in the series (this information I got by talking to my mom, which is a big fan). This is a solo title from the Dinah presented on Batgirl (which two latest volumes I review here and here). I’ve never read her previous title’s so this is a first-experience-with-the-character review.

From page one I was completely in love with the art. It has a very punk feeling, that totally ties up with the story itself. The concertย scenes were always my favourites, not only for the awesomely drawn character positions, but also because of the amazing and beautiful colours used. The character designs are flawless! I specially love their outfits. Like usual in the DC comics title’s I’ve read, there’s tons of bonus content (including studies) at the end, which are pretty rad.

The story was very interesting too! It’s a bit rough and gritty, which I can really appreciate. ย I wasn’t expecting it to be as sci-fi as it was, although it turned out to be a lovely surprise. I didn’t really feel a sense of danger throughout the comic even though there was quite a few moments of tension. The threats didn’t seem too much for Dinah to take care since she would kick and scream everything that came into her way without much worry. That’s something I’ve noticed in DC comics, the heroes don’t seem to have many crippling flaws and villains are more an inconvenient rather than a challenge.

Dinah goes through a very complete arc. I loved when she bragged about fighting besides Wonder Woman, I would totally do that too.There’s quite a few characters and they’re all well developed. The cast is almost completely composed of girl, which is always a plus. Some points regarding the characters seemed a bit too rushed (for example, Dinah’s husband or Ditto’s true identity) although I’m not sure they’ll be addressed again in later issues.

My only complaint regarding this volume is the crazy amount of text it has. I’ve never seen such a thing. Either the other graphic novels I’ve read have less of it or it is divided into more pages. The text was so much, my head started hurting after a couple minutes of reading.ย I guess that all that information was necessary but it made my reading experience a bit uncomfortable. I don’t think I’m a fan of a more novelist approach in graphic novels.

With everything said, I truly enjoyed this comic. The story was great and the art too. Of course it has some flaws but a perfect book is hard to find. I definitely recommend this, either if you’re already a DC fan or if you want to start!

See you next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

