Book Review #75 – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), by Mindy Kaling

Hey guys!

In the wake of my new obsession, I bring you another review on a memoir/essay book written by a female comedian. Here’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), by Mindy Kaling.

mindy

Buy this from Book Depository

I’m not really familiar with Kaling’s work. She is, although, partially responsible for one of my favourite shows, The Office. That’s mainly why I wanted to read this: I wanted to know what it was like to work in that amazing series. I’ve only seen a few movies with her, specially animation where she only does voice acting. I’ve never seen her solo show.

This book is a mix of memoir and essay. In here, Kailing talks about about her childhood, the beginning of her career and The Office, while at the same time explorinh topics like self image when you’re constantly being photographed for magazines, friendship, wanting to leave parties early and other things.

My wish to know more about her time in The Office was completely fulfilled. A significant chunk of this book covers how she got there and how it was like to write and act for the show. She shared thoughts about the whole experience and also some cast/writers members stories. Those parts were really cute to read but unfortunately it were the only ones that didn’t disappoint me at least a bit.

I don’t really remember wanting to laugh out loud during any point of this read, which happened in all the other books of the same category I’ve read previously. There were some chuckle worthy moments, yeah. But nothing really stood out. I mean, she’s a comedy writer for a living. I wasn’t expecting her to make me laugh with every single sentence (I think it’s Tina Fey that says that comedians shouldn’t feel like circus monkeys) but I thought this would be more funny.

What it also disappointed me was how judgmental Kaling sounds. When it comes to topics like relationships and sex, I couldn’t help but feel like she was shaming anyone who has a more liberal point of view. Maybe she’s just more conservative but there’s a different between being that and having the need to bash on people that do the other thing.

I did enjoy the relaxed tone of this book. It feels like you’re having a conversation with the author (and she’s the one doing all the talking). It makes the read a whole lot faster and enjoyable. And it kept me wanting to continue reading this book, even though I wasn’t that much into it.

I’ve been told that you need to really know Kaling and her kind of humour to really get this book. I’m not totally sure if that’s the case but maybe it is because the book felt kinda flat to me. It’s a nice read, I powered through it in a couple of days, but it never really amazed me or left me with a good impression of the author or her work. It was just an ok read to me.

Here’s one quote I enjoyed:

Everyone has a moment when they discover they love Amy Poehler.

Have any of you read this book? If so, what did you think? Were you more pleased with it than I was? Let me know!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

