Book Review #76 – The Color Purple, by Alice Walker

Hello hello!

Today’s time for a review on one of America’s biggest classics. It’s The Color Purple, by Alice Walker.

Buy this title from Book Depository

_MG_5038

_MG_5055

I only knew this book by name but I was positive it was a very important book. When Emma Watson started her feminist book club and this was the February title, I moved it up a few positions in my TBR. Although I couldn’t get to it in time for the book club, I decided to read it either way.

This book follows Celie, a black woman who writes letters to God, talking about her life for about 20 years. It starts when she’s very young and raped constantly by her father, then goes to her married life with an abusive husband and her special friendship with a gorgeous woman named Shug.

Although I can see the importance and the merit of this book, I can’t say I really enjoyed it.

It speaks of very important issues like body image, self love, racism, sexuality, religion and many more. This is, without a doubt, a feminist book. Something everyone should read, specially if they’re interested in equality of genre and race. Scratch that, everyone in the world should read this, regardless.  It is a very relevant book.

Neither the events or the characters in this novel spoke to me. The story is awfully slow and until the very last 50 pages, nothing really happens. The notion of time is one of the weirdest I’ve ever encountered. You go from one letter to the other and suddenly 5 years have passed without you realising. I couldn’t identify with any of the characters either. Their struggles and problems are very distant from my own. Although I can understand their pain and suffering and how important it is to have a book about that. Sometimes, identification with the characters is essential to like a book.

I didn’t find the language used very accessible. I started reading this in english but very quickly had to switch to portuguese since I was almost sure I wasn’t understanding anything in this book. I understand that many of the misspelling and grammar mistakes are intentional (a lot of authors do this to show a lower degree of education and culture) but it was really hard to get into. With the progression of the book it gets a lot better but it was still hard for me to be invested in the read.

That was the main problem I guess. Although I read this quickly, I wasn’t really invested or interested in whatever happened to the characters. It left me thinking about certain issues but that’s that. But it may be me here, I can totally see this book changing someone’s complete perspective on the world. It just wasn’t for me.

There was a quote I particularly enjoyed:

People think pleasing God is all God care about. But any fool living in the world can see it always trying to please us back.

Have you guys read it? Share your opinions with me too!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

