January – March Book Haul

Hello hello!

I don’t know if you guys have noticed but I haven’t posted a book haul this year! Since I’m on a book buying ban, I have been getting a lot less books than usual. So I waited until I got a significant amount to share!

So, these are all the books I’ve been getting from January until March!

_MG_5205

  • All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr | Buy it

This was absolutely one of my favourite books from last year! Unfortunately, I got it as an ebook. I could not resist a big promotion The Book Depository was having! It was my first purchase of the year (and let’s say, I ordered it in the 25th, which means a new record since I don’t usually go that long without buying anything)!

This book tells the story of a blind girl and an orphan boy during World War II. You can find my review here.

  • The School for Good and Evil series, by Soman Chainani | Buy it

These three books were gifts from my friend Jes, for Galentine’s Day! I have the best friends, honestly. When she told me she got me all three, I may or may not have shed a tear (I totally did). I’ve been swooning over those gorgeous covers for too long!

The story focus on friends Sophie and Agatha. One is a girly girl and the other likes grim things. They’re expected to be sent to the Good school and the Evil school, respectively. But the opposite happens! I’m really excited to get into this series!

  • Lair of Dreams, by Libba Bray | But it

Y’all know I absolutely LOVED The Diviners! One day, I woke up to find this gorgeous hardcover sequel for 10€!!! The Book Depository wants to kill me! I couldn’t resist… And I read this as soon as it got here, I’ll post my review this month still!

This continues following The Diviners, a group of people with special powers, during some mysterious times in 1920’s New York City.

  • Kindred Spirits, by Rainbow Rowell

That little pink book is a special title from World Book Day (I’ll explain more about it and the weird way I got my hands on a copy when I post my review) and it contains a short story by Rowell, the author of Fangirl and other beloved titles.

Kindred Spirits is about Elena, a girl that decides to queue early for the new Star Wars movie. While she hopes for a big celebration, she ends up spending three days in the same place with two other people!

  • The Witches, by Roald Dahl | Buy it

I’ve only read one Dahl book but I absolutely loved it! So, while browsing through the local flea market, I couldn’t really resist and spend only 1€ on this!

In this world, witches don’t ride in broomsticks or  wear black cloaks. They seem nice ordinary women, until faced with children!

  • Shadow and Bone, by Leigh Bardugo | Buy it

This was a Christmas present from my lovely friend Charlie. Although it got lost a couple of times, getting to me only in March wasn’t that bad because I was DYING to get to a copy of this either way. And oh boy, if the story is as good as the cover is pretty, I’m going to love it!

I don’t want to really know a lot more about this book than I already do (there’s a character named The Darkling, this is set in a Russian like society, and there’s a whole lot of deer antlers?). So, I’ll leave the link to the Goodreads synopsis here. This is the first instalment in The Grisha trilogy.

  • Ms. Marvel Vol.2: Generation Why, by G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona and Jabob Wyatt | Buy it

After a million years wanting to continue reading the Ms. Marvel comics, I got a chance to ask for it when I won a giveaway! I’m so so eager to learn more about Kamala’s adventure, specially since she has a “dog” (I’m sure it isn’t really a regular animal) companion now!

Once again, I don’t want to know what’s going to happen on this one, so here’s the synopsis in case you’re curious!

It took a while to have something to post but I’m so excited about every title in this haul! I loved each one I’ve read so far and I’m really dying to get to the others! Hopefully the next haul won’t take three months but I’m still trying not to spend that much money (let’s pray that I win more stuff!).

If you’ve read any of these books, please let me know what you thought of them! I’ll love to know you guys’ opinions!

See you soon,

Cat.

4 thoughts on “January – March Book Haul

  1. I need the second Vl of Ms. Marvel! I really enjoyed it and after the set up in Vol 1, I hope that is full of action and story telling! I can’t get Kindred Spirits in Australia 😦 Its not even available to buy online any more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

