Book Review #79 – Kindred Spirits, by Rainbow Rowell

Hello guys!

Today I bring you the review for one of this year’s World Book Day titles. It’s Kindred Spirits, by Rainbow Rowell.

_MG_5114-

World Book Day is mainly celebrated in the Uk and Ireland (I don’t know why that name, since most countries celebrate that day at another time) on March 3rd. Kids dress up as book characters to go to school and get a 1£ book token that can be traded for an exclusive short story at local bookshops. One of my friends ordered the Rainbow Rowell title from the internet but she wasn’t aware she was actually ordering a batch of 50 copies! Yup, you read right: 50! Apparently these books, when sold normally, come in bulks. So, she was kind enough to send me one of her extras, since I was obsessed in getting a physical copy of it. I mean, it’s Rowell and Star Wars, it seemed like a recipe for perfection!

Elena is a die-hard Star Wars fan. So, she decides to queue outside her local theatre for the new movie. She’s expecting a crowd and a celebration but instead ends up spending the days with only two other people.

I finished this a while ago and I’m still lovestruck. I don’t think I could adore this story more. I’m like Elena, if you slide my heart open, Star Wars would probably pour out. I just love those movies so much. I even have a lightsaber tattoo! So, of course, all the references to the most famous space soap opera made me melt constantly. But I don’t think my love for Star Wars is what made me love this short story so much: I think it’s genuinely that good.

First of all, let me mention the diverse characters. Yes, they’re like 5 over all but they’re all different. Elena is vietnamese, one of her line buddies is fat (there’s no fat shamming) and I think the theatre manager is latino. A diverse set of characters is always a plus, in my opinion.

This is a romantic story, wouldn’t this be Rainbow Rowell written. But the romance doesn’t play that big of a part. This is basically a tale about nerd culture and fitting in. I loved the analysis of what it’s like to be a “nerd” today, when it’s not about loners with particular tastes getting together but more like every single person in the world getting together and still making the regular nerds left out. It’s honestly something I haven’t though about.

Don’t get me wrong though, you’ll still see a lot of what you love in Rowell’s books in this one. It’s quirky and adorable. It will make you smile like a dork and completely warm even the coldest of hearts. I laughed a lot too.

But oh boy, the ending! I don’t want to spoil it but it was so silly and awfully cute and embarrassing! I just, ugh I can’t. I laughed out loud in the train because of it. I absolutely loved it and I though it was perfectly fitting to the rest of the story.

If Rainbow Rowell wants to write a full-novel version of this, sign me in! Although Carry On was a bad experience (you can read my review here) I think her books can be for me, even if I’m not that much of a romantic girl. I need to pick up her other books soon but I don’t know where to start! Suggestions are welcome!

Have you guys read this? If not, you can get a digital copy or enter one of the many giveaways of people that, like my friend, got 50 copies!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #79 – Kindred Spirits, by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

