Mini reviews

Hello guys!

During my semi hiatus, I read a ton of books. I don’t want to spam you with all the reviews I have to do and, honestly, I don’t remember some of the books in the depth I usually use for my regular reviews. So, I’m doing mini reviews, with two titles each! I hope you enjoy them!

Today’s books are Ps. I Still Love You, by Jenny Han and The School For Good and Evil, by Soman Chainani.

Ps. I Still Love You, by Jenny Han

Buy this book from Book Depository

This is the second instalment on the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before duology until very recently, when the author announced a third book. I could do a big rant about how authors seem to be sucking every last bit of milk from the milking cows that are their work but that is something for a future post (maybe). Once again, this story follows Lara Jean and her relationship with Peter, which is now very real. But things get complicated when an old crush comes in the picture.

I had a feeling this book would be unnecessary from just knowing about its existence and, unfortunately, that was confirmed. I love Lara Jean and her whole world, very pastel and happy, which seems kinda unrealistic at times, but I don’t really feel like she has that many stories that need to be told. Yeah, they’re enjoyable but only as mindless and thoughtless reads. Reads where you don’t really have much to think about. The plot is really predictable but I still feel like these kinds of series are my guilty pleasures. They’re not reads I go to much often but they’re so different, they act like palate cleansers. Lara Jean is adorable, and I love her. Her family dynamics is really cute, and I’m so jealous of their relationships. The other characters feel a bit flat at times but I was so concentrated on other things, I didn’t really notice their presence. The writing was very cute and feel good, which makes the reading experience very lovely.

In general, I didn’t love this book but it was a pleasant read. Will I read the third, unexpected book? Probably, because I’m a sucker for anything that has Lara Jean in it.

The School for Good and Evil, by Soman Chainani

Buy this book from Book Depository

I don’t read a lot of middle grade books, but both this story and covers really made me curious to check them out. Sophie and Agatha are best friends, and they live in a town where two kids are taken from every year, to go to either School of Good or School of Evil, and begin their own fairy tale.

I enjoyed this first book, although I had a lot of problems with it. I loved how the author explores the spectrum of apparently so black and white concepts, like good and evil, beautiful and ugliness. The problem is, some concepts get mixed up in the middle. This book is kind of sexist and bashing of fat/not so pretty people. In the other hand, the characters were pretty great, and god, I loved that fantasy and fairy tale world! From a book that’s for ages 8 and up, I thought it was a bit too violent and messy. I personally didn’t mind, but I’m not sure some parents will appreciate this.

To me, it felt like the author had good intentions but they got lost and/or mixed up in the process. Although, I thought this book was pretty enjoyable and I already have the whole series so I’m going to continue it! I’m excited to see where the story will go.

I’ll bring you more of these reviews soon! I hope you enjoy them.

See you soon,

Cat.

 

2 thoughts on “Mini reviews

Leave a Reply

