Mini reviews #2

Hello readers!

Today’s time for another couple of mini reviews! The titles are Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins and How to be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran.

Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins

Buy this from Book Depository

This is the second book in the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy. It tells the story of Lola, and how her life’s changed when her old neighbour (and crush) comes back to town.

Lola got on my nerves from the first chapter. She thinks she’s such a special snowflake, I couldn’t deal with her. Although there’s not anything “wrong” about this book, I just didn’t enjoy it much. Like the main character, a lot of things got on my nerves. Everyone’s names are weird, which I guess is to be quirky. It’s not, it’s just annoying. Lola’s boyfriend becomes a jerk just as a plot device. Honestly, it’s ridiculous. She and Josh, the neighbour, have some kind of “perfect” thing but it’s so forced, it comes out unnatural and so, not believable. My favourite thing was to see Anna and Étienne again! I also loved the descriptions of San Francisco, the town looks beautiful!

I still like Perkins’ style and the kind of feel good stories she writes but I just couldn’t like this book. Although, I can’t help but find this book utterly forgettable. I’ll still be reading the last title of the trilogy, and soon.

How to be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran

Buy this from Book Depository

I’ve known about Moran for a long time. I heard one of her interviews and I kinda related to her. Plus, we pretty much have the same sense of style, so I was excited to start this non-fiction book.

Well, this book was something… I still have a lot of mixed feelings about it. For once, I loved the humorous, unapologetic and brutally honest tone of this book. I’ve mentioned it before but it’s something I really really appreciate. I can’t help but feel like women a lot of times try to justify their actions and it was really nice to see something away from that for a change. In the other hand, I just can’t ignore the whole problematic aspect of the book too. This is kinda racist and very shaming of some aspects of women’s choices. Not to mention how contradictory it is. I wished I had wrote this review right after I had finished reading it, since there’s so many shit that’s said that I absolutely repressed because it was just too horrible. And besides, either you do everything and think exactly as Moran or you’re completely ridiculed throughout this book. As a modern woman, I not only don’t like to be told what to do, at all, but I also like to see all the points around me clearly and choose what I want to believe. That’s not what happens in this book. Yes, you’re exposed to what Moran believes but you are forced to accept it as the absolute truth. And I’m sorry, but I’m not racist or transphobic, just to mention a few things that were said in this book. I saw a lot of things like “you need to understand the author’s humour to enjoy her work” and what not, but honestly, that’s some bullshit right there. Somethings are terrible, no discussion about it.

Reading this book was an experience, specially eye opening. It makes you realise what kind of twisted “feminism” is sold to big audiences. It’s kinda sad actually. White feminism is one of the main reasons people still think of the word as something bad. As a memoir, this is an enjoyable book. As a feminist manifesto, not at all.

So these were two titles I didn’t really enjoy, which is a shame because I was really excited for both! Thing is, you can’t really expect that every single book you read to be amazing, right?

Anyway, see you guys soon!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Mini reviews #2

  1. It’s a shame you didn’t like Lola and the Boy Next Door! I didn’t enjoy it anywhere near as much as the 1st book…it seems a lot of people didn’t. I liked the last book a lot more though, so I hope you do too! And it’s especially a shame that you didn’t like the Moran book! I’ve heard so many great things about it so I was tempted to pick it up, though hesitant because when it comes to strong feminism belief I sort of don’t want to be whitewashed with another person’s opinion rather than my own, so it’s sad to hear you didn’t like it. Great reviews though, really thorough! Hope your next reads are better 🙂

    Like

    • everyone says that isla is really great, so I’m excited to see if I think the same too 😊
      well, you know, any non-fiction book can be problematic really but I think when it comes to feminism and other kinds of “political” books, the line between acceptable and problematic is really thin! it was a shame tho, I have to admit. I was really excited to read it.
      thank you so much! this was a bad phase but I’m back to good stuff now 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

