Mid Year Book Tag

Hello guys!

It’s just past the middle of the year and I’ve already read 50 books! Here’s my thoughts on some that I’ve read so far!

midyear-01

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016?

My favourite is definitely Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons From the Crematory, by Caitling Doughty! You’ll get to read my review soon but spoiler alert: I really loved it!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016?

Queen of Shadows!!! I read it in January and I’m still obsessed over it.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

I will say Monstress! It’s a new graphic novel from Image and it looks beautiful. The trade paperback is about to come out and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

Empire of Storms. I’m a sucker for Throne of Glass, sorry.

5. Biggest disappointment?

Surprisingly, I haven’t read that many disappointing books. Which is great really. I guess my biggest disappointment has to be The Raven Boys. It’s such an hyped series but the first book did absolutely nothing to me and I don’t think I’ll read the sequels. That or Ink and Bone. Oh, or Carry On! Maybe I have read many disappointing books, now that I think of it…

6. Biggest surprise?

I’m going to say Smoke Gets in Your Eyes again!

7. Favourite new author? (Debut or new to you)


Maybe Octavia E. Butler or Patti Smith.

8. Newest fictional crush?

Barbara Gordon, from Batgirl. I love that girl so much. She kicks ass, is a total nerd and super beautiful. Just my kind of lady.

9. Newest favourite character?

Elena from Rainbow Rowell’s Kindred Spirits.

10. Book that made you cry?

Monsters of Men, by Patrick Ness. I’m still crying and it’s been like two months.

11. Book that made you happy?

Kindred Spirits was amazing. And it had Star Wars in it, how could I not be happy?

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year?

Choke was a pretty dead on adaptation of the book! Probably one of the most faithful I’ve ever encountered. Totally recommend it.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year? 

I don’t think there’s one I particularly am proud of. I guess that I’m just proud that I feel way more comfortable with writing in general. It’s not something that comes that naturally to me but I’m getting a lot better at it.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year?

This one was a gift but the Shadow and Bone cover is so gorgeous. I legit spent ten minutes looking at it when I opened the package.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I don’t particularly have goals for the reading year, but I definitely want to read more books about/by authors from Africa and Asia, since I feel like I lack in that department. And I guess I really want to read Crime and Punishment until December!

I’ve never thought I would have read this many books by July, since it’s pretty much the same amount I read the whole time last year! I’m very proud of myself and my reads. I cannot wait to see what else 2016 has for me!

So, what is your favourite book of the year so far? And the worst? Let me know please!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Tag

Leave a Reply

