Book Review #89 – A World Without Princes, by Soman Chainani

Hello hello!

It is time for another The School for Good And Evil review! This is A World Without Princes, by Soman Chainani.

Buy this from Book Depository

a-world-without-princes

This is second title in this trilogy. As I said in my review for the first book (check it here), there were some problematic things about the story and I was feeling a bit hesitant in starting this one. Truth is, I loved the setting and I already own the trilogy so there was really no other option but to continue it!

After Agatha and Sophie come back to their regular lives, they start to realize that maybe that wasn’t what they really wanted. Agatha wishes for an ending with Tedros, making the School for Good and Evil open again. But, not everything is quite the same.

Firstly, I enjoyed this a whole lot more than  I did the first one. Mainly, because I found it less problematic, although I know this is an unpopular opinion. I’ll get to that eventually!

This world is still one of my favourite things ever. I just love the magic and fantasy revolving around it.  It’s so fairy tale-y but also so cool and fun. There’s tons of different creatures and personalities, and even races or body types. When it comes to a diverse world, this is more realistic that some contemporary books I’ve read! Most of all, the setting, the characters and the events make this a super fun and quick read! Agatha is still my favourite and Sophie is still the worst, although a lot more bearable.

I guess what I really like about these books is the whole ambiguity they try to explore when it comes to apparent black and white concepts. For example, when the girls come back to the school, it is divided in the School for Girls and the School for Boys. This is one of the main topics of the book, the oh-so-common battle of the sexes. I saw a lot of reviews calling this book misogynistic and misandristic but I read it in a whole different way. I think the author has decided to show extreme situations that would result from a severe hatred from both genders towards each other. But that’s exactly what the author is trying to say: it isn’t ideal or the solution for all the inequalities. That lies between the cooperation of everyone, being female, male or none/all of the above. Which I cannot agree more with. I can see why and how people might have get a different thing from what I did but I think I know what the autor is trying to accomplish here. The same happens with the whole concept of good and evil, which exploration I think is the main goal of the series. All these issues are very thought provoking to me as an adult, which I wasn’t really expecting for books with such young audience but by now I should have learned not to underestimate any book for children!

I was glad to not see so much blurriness between the intentions of the author, which made this way more enjoyable for me. The ending was pretty good and I wasn’t really expecting it. I’m definitely super curious to see how the series is going to end, and if maybe my predictions are correct or not! Let’s see!

Here’s a quote:

It’s the problem with fairy tales. From far away, they seem so perfect. But up close, they’re just as complicated as real life.

If you’re read this title, what did you think?

See you soon! Happy readings!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

