Book Review #99 – Solitaire, by Alice Oseman

Hello readers!

It is time for my review of Solitaire, by Alice Oseman.

Get this title from Book Depository

20618110

Synopsis:

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

Pros:

  • ok writing

 

Cons:

  • very “Tumblr” approach to teenage life, for example resentment and judgment towards people who “changed”, the notion that all your classmates/friends is being fake and secretly hate you, the “I’m clearly depressed but only the special one will notice” trope, rebelling the “system”, etc etc etc
  • very unrealistic and, consequently, fake
  • pretentious af

 

Verdict:

Oh boy, I don’t think I cared so little about a book in FOREVER. I was very interested in picking this up because I follow the author on Tumblr and she seems like a lovely person (and I think we share the same birthday). But unfortunately, the book itself was an utter disappointment. The main character was just the most irritating thing, she’s so pretentious and judgmental. It’s not like she’s an unlikable character, she’s just terrible. I don’t have the patient for her kind of approach and attitude. And with such a distasteful main character, I just couldn’t stop wishing for this book to end. The fact that the plot was the most unrealistic thing ever didn’t help, either. Honestly, now that I think about it, I have no idea how I even got to the end of this book.

I was excited for this and for the second book by Oseman, Radio Silence, but at this point, I’m not going to jump to it right away.

Anyone a fan of this one? Let me now please!

Until next time,

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #99 – Solitaire, by Alice Oseman

  1. I can definitely sympathize! I was a little disappointed by this book because I was also put off a bit by the narrator. I just got annoyed by how aggressively she didn’t care about anything. Oseman did write this when she was only 17, though, so my expectations were sort of low to begin with.

    If it’s any consolation, I do think that her second book, Radio Silence, is MUCH stronger. It’s definitely still got the Tumblr aspect of it (and it’s also inspired by Welcome to Night Vale), but it’s a lot easier to swallow in that one. Her writing style has definitely matured since Solitaire. I do think it’s worth a shot to check it out eventually!

    Like

    • I think it’s absolutely great that she wrote something and got it published so young! it’s an incredible accomplishment. it just wasn’t for me :/
      oh, and I’ll definitely read the second one because there’s so many aspects of it that sound amazing, like asexuality and the whole radio/podcast thing. some of these days, maybe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

