ARC | Book Review #103 – Hag-Seed, by Margaret Atwood

Hello readers!

Here is my review of Hag-Seed, by Margaret Atwood.

Buy this book from Book Depository

hag_seed_5_17

Synopsis:

William Shakespeare’s The Tempest retold as Hag-Seed

Felix is at the top of his game as Artistic Director of the Makeshiweg Theatre Festival. His productions have amazed and confounded. Now he’s staging a Tempest like no other: not only will it boost his reputation, it will heal emotional wounds.

Or that was the plan. Instead, after an act of unforeseen treachery, Felix is living in exile in a backwoods hovel, haunted by memories of his beloved lost daughter, Miranda. And also brewing revenge.

After twelve years, revenge finally arrives in the shape of a theatre course at a nearby prison. Here, Felix and his inmate actors will put on his Tempest and snare the traitors who destroyed him. It’s magic! But will it remake Felix as his enemies fall?

Margaret Atwood’s novel take on Shakespeare’s play of enchantment, retribution, and second chances leads us on an interactive, illusion-ridden journey filled with new surprises and wonders of its own.

 

Pros:

  • the sassiness, irony and humour of Ms. Atwood

 

Cons:

  • couldn’t relate to anything: characters, plot, message
  • million descriptions of the plot of The Tempest
  • so boring, the plot stretches until eternity

 

Verdict:

This was the most recent case of “it’s not you, it’s me”. I really wanted to like this, I’m just getting into Atwood’s work but I’ve loved what I read from her. Except this one. Nothing about it spoke to me. The characters and the plot are so not what I’m into. Besides there’s just too many descriptions and analysis of The Tempest. I haven’t read the original and honestly, I don’t really want to now. I’m not sure if this was only a down for me but I just couldn’t deal with it. I don’t know, doing a retelling of a play with a story that has the play itself in it and basically is the same story just seems like a lazy thing to do. And it bored me to death. It took me forever to finish and I was so relieved when it ended. But, I know that this is my case. I feel like this book can be really great to some, and can definitely speak to them. It’s just definitely not for me.

Any fans of Atwood out there? I’ve read The Handmaid’s Tale and Angel Catbird but nothing else so I’m open to more recommendations!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

6 thoughts on “ARC | Book Review #103 – Hag-Seed, by Margaret Atwood

  1. I just received a copy of this, so I’m getting ready to read this. I haven’t read The Tempest, so I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it. It wasn’t on my radar until it was sent to me so I was already skeptical…now after reading your review, even more so.

    Like

  2. The blurb sounds super boring! Ive never read Margaret Atwood and I probably wont ever pick this one up. Im thinking I might give Gillian Flynn’s Hamlet (?) from this series a try eventually. I feel like she’s the only writer in this series that writes more commercial than literary. Also I totally hated The Tempest haha can’t blame you for not getting into it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

