ARC | Book Review #107 – Moranifesto, by Caitlin Moran

Hello guys!

Here is my review for Moranifesto, by Caitlin Moran.

Get this title from Book Depository

81xtipjhwil

Synopsis:

‘I’ve lived through ten iOS upgrades on my Mac – and that’s just something I use to muck about on Twitter. Surely capitalism is due an upgrade or two?’

When Caitlin Moran sat down to choose her favourite pieces for her new book she realised that they all seemed to join up. Turns out, it’s the same old problems and the same old ass-hats.

Then she thought of the word ‘Moranifesto’, and she knew what she had to do…

This is Caitlin’s engaging and amusing rallying call for our times. Combining the best of her recent columns with lots of new writing unique to this book, Caitlin deals with topics as pressing and diverse as 1980s swearing, benefits, boarding schools, and why the internet is like a drunken toddler.

And whilst never afraid to address the big issues of the day – such as Benedict Cumberbatch and duffel coats – Caitlin also makes a passionate effort to understand our 21st century society and presents us with her ‘Moranifesto’ for making the world a better place.

The polite revolution starts here! Please.

 

Pros:

  • one or two chuckle worthy moments

 

Cons:

  • outdated
  • so boring
  • Moran continues to be a white feminist

 

Verdict:

If you’ve been popping in Cat’s Shelf for a while, you might have come across my review of How to be a Woman (you can read it here). But TL;DR basically I really didn’t like it. I found Moran extremely problematic and I just couldn’t ignore it. Even so, for some reason I decided to give the author a second change. Unfortunately, I wasn’t surprised since Moran didn’t change a lot since her past release. My main problem with this book was how extremely tedious it was. There’s boring and boring books but I actually yawned so much I cried at one point. This is a collection of essays and columns the author wrote for Time magazine and at some points she dwelled in politics. They’re mostly centred on the UK or Europe so if you aren’t already in on the subjects, you won’t enjoy those pieces. Specially because they aren’t recent either. Most have two or even three years! Considering politic issues shift literally over night, these segments were super outdated and irrelevant. Then there’s some self ass licking with Moran talking about the famous people she met and the parties she attend, and the things she’s invited to *yawn*. And of course, the white feminism… I don’t even know. Yes, we can’t expect for our feminist icons to do EVERYTHING but there’s just basic things a feminist should do because hello feminism means inclusion of everyone not just white, able bodied or hetero. Also, someone who praises Lena Dunham instantly looses my respect. Honestly, the only good thing you can take from this book is the advice that you should break into your new Dr. Martens boots before going on a hike with them. There’s a few other things here and there that aren’t so terrible but they kinda get lost in the bad things. With this, I think I’m done with Caitlin Moran’s work.

Are you guys a fan of Moran? Do you think I still should I read How to Build a Girl? Any thoughts are welcome!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

