Book Review #109 – Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs

Hello guys!

Here is my review for the second book in my most recent favorite series. It’s Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs.

Get this title from Book Depository

hollowcity

Synopsis:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the surprise best seller of 2011—an unprecedented mix of YA fantasy and vintage photography that enthralled readers and critics alike. Publishers Weekly called it “an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

 

Pros:

  • wonderful characters (old and brand new to the story)
  • pacing, making the story not particularly fast but never boring
  • the whole atmosphere is just magical

 

Cons:

  • suffers from the middle book syndrome

 

Verdict:

Guys, I love this series so so much. Reading this book, as well as the other, was such a joy. There’s something about the world and the characters and the way they mix with the photos that just makes me want to dive head first into it. It reminds me why I love reading. The kids are delightful and I particularly enjoy how we learn this story from Jacob’s perspective and he’s very special and all, but I don’t think this is about him. It’s about those peculiar children. And I love them. Most of the plot doesn’t really matter for the endgame of the story and could have been easily shortened. But that’s the only down thing I can say about Hollow City. Because those last 50 something pages happened and I died! I read a bunch of reviews mentioning the ending but I wasn’t expecting those freaking plot twists! Man, I need to buy Library of Souls right now!!

Any fans of the series out there? Please let me know your opinions!

See you next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

