Book Review #111 – One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories, by B. J. Novak

Hello everyone!

Today I have for you a review of One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories, by B. J. Novak.

Get this title from Book Depository

c

Pros:

  • some parts were actually so stupid and bonkers I couldn’t help but chuckle
  • the audiobook has some terrific actors as narrator and the stories have different voices for each character

 

Cons:

  • no depth to any plot/characters
  • no actual humour
  • couldn’t finish it

 

Verdict:

Nothing kills me more than abandoning a book but life is too short for reading things I’m not enjoying. This is one of those reads. I’m an huge huge fan of The Office (US) and some of my favourite episodes were written by B. J. Novak. So of course I wanted to read this. But I thought it was a memoir/autobiography so yeah, I was disappointed to find out this is a short story collection, a genre written by actors I tend to really dislike and want to abandon (I’m looking at you Bream Gives Me Hiccups, by Jesse Eisenberg – review here). I hardly found any of these stories interesting or remotely funny. They were too superficial and too often tried too much to be something they never achieved. At points they were so bunkers that I ended up laughing, for example, The Roast of Nelson Mandela (which is as ridiculous as the title suggests). Those were the only moment where I actually enjoyed the book one bit. But mostly, I was so bored. Since it would be more of the same for the rest of the title, I stopped at 80%. I don’t really regret it now. Maybe this will be your kind of humour, maybe not. It definitely wasn’t mine.

Any fans of The Office in here? It’s one of my favourite shows of all time!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

