ARC | Book Review #112 – The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

Hello hello!

Here is my review for the book with the most gorgeous cover of the year: It’s The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon.

Get this title from Book Depository

The-Sun-is-also-a-Star.jpg

Synopsis:

Be the first to read the dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

Pros:

  • really good writing
  • effortlessly diverse
  • rational love

 

Cons:

  • I’m personally not a fan of romance
  • no much plot or even things actually happening
  • no structure
  • terrible and forced epilogue

 

Verdict: 

Sometimes a cover is so gorgeous that it makes you want to read a book, even if you know you probably won’t love it because the genre of it just isn’t your thing. This is one of those reads (even if I have been curious to read a book by Nicola Yoon in a while either way). I can’t say that I disliked this book but I didn’t love it either. I didn’t fell over heels with it because I’m just not a romance person. The sappiness makes me roll my eyes and I can’t take those stories seriously since they seem so surreal. And believe me, this book is really sappy. Natasha and Daniel are super romantic and in love. But I have to say I appreciated the scientific approach of love. Natasha is a science geek so she doesn’t really believe in all the metaphors of love. Instead, there’s these descriptions of chemical reactions and brain impulses, which Yoon still makes sounds romantic and beautiful. That’s what I loved about her writing: even the things that could sound boring to some (like descriptions of meteors or black matter) and make them poetic. She’s a great writer, even if I think that this title is really lacking on the plot or structure, which are pretty much non existent. That made the read a bit boring to me at times, since the romance wasn’t enough to keep me hooked. Another really strong point of this title it’s its effortlessly diverse cast. I feel like in our present times, a lot of author feel obligated in adding diversity to their books. And let’s be honest, most of them, unfortunately, don’t see the need of that, which makes their inclusion forced and not at all good. That is not the case with Yoon. It’s impossible to miss the similarities of the characters names (N and D) and nationalities (Jamaican and Korean) to both the author and her husband. This interracial romance is simple and complex in the best kind of way. But, in my opinion, what makes this book loose a bit of credit is that awful epilogue. It seemed so forced and unnecessary. Don’t wanna get spoilery in here but as a reader, I sometimes like to have a bit left to my imagination and not just being told what happens (I guess this will make more sense if you’ve read the book. At least I hope so). And yes, this book is all about coincidences but damn, even fate has its limits. So, I think that if you’re already a fan of romance, this is probably you’re next new favourite book. If not, this can either bring you to the genre or not. It’s either going to be a hit or a miss, honestly.

Should I read Everything, Everything or will I just end up feeling pretty much what I felt towards this one? Opinions needed!

Thank you for reading and hope to see you soon!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “ARC | Book Review #112 – The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

  1. I think we feel the same way about this. I just couldn’t. It’s so insta-love-y and over the top. For people like us who dont like romance, this was bound to be a miss. Regardless I think it’s a good book though. I just didn’t like it haha
    Ahh don’t EE, it’s so ableist. Read Under Rose-Tainted Skies instead. Similar story by an #ownvoices author who knows what they’re talking about.

    Like

  2. if you don’t like romance, definitely don’t read everything, everything. it does have a bit more of a plot, but it’s very romance-y. i also enjoyed under rose-tainted skies, but i thought it felt similar to everything, everything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

