ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #41 – Motor Crush #1, by Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr

Hello everyone!

I’m doing a little detour from #ReadIndie to review the first issue of Motor Crush, by my dream squad Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr.

In your local book store on Wednesday, December 7th!

MotorCrush01.jpg

Synopsis:

The team behind the critically acclaimed revamp of Batgirl returns with an exciting sci-fiaction-adventure series! By day, Domino Swift competes for fame and fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting “machine narcotic” known as Crush. Featuring Part One of ISOLA: PROLOGUE by BRENDEN FLETCHER and KARL KERSCHL!

 

Pros:

  • the creative team (did I mention I like these three people’s work a lot?)
  • just from the cover you can see this is about a badass woman
  • very and effortlessly diverse
  • it made me interested in motorcycles and this sport (who would have thought, right?!)
  • the art *heart eyes*

 

Cons:

  • will have to wait some time to read more

 

Verdict: 

As you might have guessed by now, Fletcher, Stewart and Tarr’s work is on my radar. I’ve been seeing images of Motor Crush on their social media accounts and I knew I had to get this as soon as possible. And, lucky me, I got a chance to read the first issue early! I don’t usually read single issues but I opened an exception. I did regret it though, because by the time there were no more pages left, I just wanted more and more. The last cliffhanger is brutal but the whole comic just makes you not wanting to stop reading. It’s action packed and both the protagonist and the world are fascinating. Domino is even more badass than I was expecting. She rocks the hairdo and the motorcycle. And the fact that she has an inhaler makes her even more cool. Not getting spoilery, but the story is pretty awesome also. At this point we learned only a bit about that world but I’m so curious to know the rest. And the art, dudes!!! I love both Tarr and Stewart’s styles. I’m absolutely shook by the colours in this comic, though. The action poses are amazing and the pinks and browns just give them a live I wouldn’t have imagined possible. Also, I’m in love with the little detail of the light trails in the night time races!

I’m hooked. I want more. And I want it now. I’m now a fan of Motorcrush. Here’s a little sneak peak of the beginning of the story:

 

I’ll recommend this immaculate first issue to all my comic book lovers friends! Go buy it next Wednesday!!

See you guys soon!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

