#READINDIE Book Review #116 – The Foxhole Court, by Nora Sakavic

Hello guys!

Ah, one more #ReadIndie review! Here are my thoughts on The Foxhole Court, by Nora Sakavic.

17259690

Synopsis: 

Neil Josten is the newest addition to the Palmetto State University Exy team. He’s short, he’s fast, he’s got a ton of potential—and he’s the runaway son of the murderous crime lord known as The Butcher.

Signing a contract with the PSU Foxes is the last thing a guy like Neil should do. The team is high profile and he doesn’t need sports crews broadcasting pictures of his face around the nation. His lies will hold up only so long under this kind of scrutiny and the truth will get him killed.

But Neil’s not the only one with secrets on the team. One of Neil’s new teammates is a friend from his old life, and Neil can’t walk away from him a second time. Neil has survived the last eight years by running. Maybe he’s finally found someone and something worth fighting for.

 

Pros:

  • it wasn’t THAT boring to read

 

Cons:

  • too much sport
  • too much anger and testosterone for no apparent reason
  • so freaking  exaggerated

 

Verdict:

Ah, well… Honestly, it is my own for picking a book about sports… Was I expecting to like it? I shouldn’t have made that mistake. Seriously, this is just not a book for me. I couldn’t take all that ridiculous anger. How? Why? Please explain. It made no sense in the beginning and I still didn’t understand why they all had #problems and #traumas by the end either. Someone on Goodreads suggested reading this as it were an anime and honestly, that’s the only way I can think you could make sense of this book. Everything about the mood, the over the top attitudes, etc it’s just so exaggerated and too much. I also felt it was trying to be really edgy with all the violence and the “drugging your friends senseless in nightclubs” (serious, what the fuck was that about?!). And besides that ridiculous fest, the sports just bored me to death. I’ll admit it, the sports talk could represent a much bigger chunk of the book but still, it was enough for me. I never really understood how it was played and why it was such a phenomenon to begin with so why care? That was my problem with this book: I just couldn’t care, for one reason or the other. But, even knowing that this isn’t a book for me, I don’t think I could recommend it to anyone. Too problematic to even bother.

I feel like this review says nothing but I honestly can’t think of anything coherent to say. Every time I remember about this book I just groan and sigh for like three hours.

Anyway! Have you read this?

Please let me know your thought! If you don’t know about #ReadIndie, read all about it here, there’s still time!

Thank you so much for reading.

See you next time,

Cat.

 

Leave a Reply

