ARC | #READINDIE Graphic Novel/Manga Review #42 – Another Castle: Grimoire, by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganucheau

Hello everyone!

#ReadIndie ends tomorrow but I still have one more review to go! Here is an indie graphic novel – Another Castle: Grimoire, by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganucheau.

Pre-order this book from Book Depository

430571-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Synopsis:

We are thrilled to invite you on a journey of courage, friendship, and rebellion—Another Castle: Grimoire! This volume gathers all the issues from the hit comic book series centered on the adventures of Princess Misty of Beldora, whose courageous spirit leads to her capture, and ultimately, to a heroic adventure that spans two kingdoms.

Our tale begins when Princess Misty of Beldora, who longs for a more exciting life, gets more than she bargained for when she is captured by Lord Badlug, the ruler of the neighboring kingdom of Grimoire. He intends to marry her and conquer Beldora, leading the land into ruin and chaos. The people of Grimoire already suffer under his rule and desperately need a hero… luckily, Badlug has just kidnapped one! Together with the citizens of Grimoire and a certain bumbling prince, Misty must fight to protect her kingdom and free both realms from Badlug’s tyrannical rule. Misty is determined not to be another damsel in distress; and with her new friends to protect, she’ll discover just what it takes to be the hero of the story.

 

Pros:

  • gorgeous art
  • great take on a classic trope
  • super important messages about decisions and finding yourself

 

Cons:

  • the big conflict at the end felt a bit too rushed

 

Verdict:

I saw this pop out on NetGalley and I was instantly drawn by the cover because it reminded me of the first Star Wars movie poster for some reason (one of the issue covers is literally like one of those posters), but with a fairy tale approach? I was definitely convinced. Also, Paulina Ganucheau has been in my radar since forever and I actually got Zodiac Starforce on my birthday (even though I haven’t read it yet). Ah, but about this comic. First of all, I really liked it. I love a good old story that subverts a well used thrope. This could be easily a classic story of a princess not sure about her will to do her duty but it becomes a lot more than that. Misty is not the only one questioning who they are and what they are supposed to do and I liked that. I also liked how diverse and inclusive the characters are. The magic was lovely and the “monsters” were so well developed either in their presentation or their roles in the story. Although this was the princess’ plot, everyone had their place and their resolution at the end. My favourite was Gorga even though I also loved Peter, Fogmoth, Good King Robyn and pretty much everyone (and yes, even Badlug). I wasn’t expecting the whole comic to be half as funny and punny as it was but the surprise was lovely. Well, in all honesty, I just really liked this book. I’m not sure there will be more issues and if not, I’m ok with that but I would really really love some more.

I recommend this gorgeous title to everyone! It’s beautiful in all ways: art, writing, bonus stuff, EVERYTHING. Have you heard of it before? Let me know please!

#ReadIndie was awesome for me. I got out of my comfort zone for some titles and basically found a few of my favourite reads of this year too. I hope this has sparked my attention for more independent books! And I hope it made you more curious about smaller publications too! That’s all I can ask.

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

