Book Review #117 – #GIRLBOSS, by Sophia Amoruso

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for #GIRLBOSS, by Sophia Amoruso.

Get your copy from Book Depository

girlboss_sophia_amoruso

Synopsis:

The founder of Nasty Gal offers a sassy and irreverent manifesto for ambitious young women

At seventeen, Sophia Amoruso decided to forgo continuing education to pursue a life of hitchhiking, dumpster diving, and petty thievery. Now, at twenty-nine, she is the Founder, CEO, and Creative Director of Nasty Gal, a $100+ million e-tailer that draws A-list publicity and rabid fans for its leading-edge fashion and provocative online persona. Her story is extraordinary—and only part of the appeal of #GIRLBOSS.

This aspirational book doesn’t patronize young women the way many business experts do. Amoruso shows readers how to channel their passion and hard work, while keeping their insecurities from getting in the way. She offers straight talk about making your voice heard and doing meaningful work.

She’s proof that you can be a huge success without giving up your spirit of adventure or distinctive style. As she writes, “I have three pieces of advice I want you to remember: Don’t ever grow up. Don’t become a bore. Don’t let The Man get to you. OK? Cool. Then let’s do this.”

 

Pros:

  • motivates you to stand up and do something
  • pure honesty

 

Cons:

  • it doesn’t really have a format, which makes it repetitive at times
  • a lot of #humblebrag
  • author doesn’t acknowledges her luck

 

Verdict:

Sigh, I don’t even know where to start with this one. Mostly because I still don’t know 100% what to think of it. Some parts really made me want to really look for something I truly love, work on it and be successful. Other’s just annoyed me. I mean, girl, you are writing a book. It literally says in the cover that you are rich and popular. There’s no need to remind ourselves about it every few sentences. Although I appreciate your honesty about stealing and dumpster diving, it doesn’t really erase or justify the amount of bragging. Besides, it really irritated me that Amoruso refuses to acknowledge that luck played any kind of part in her success. I also refuse to believe this is true. I know for a fact that hard work and talent aren’t the only ingredients for success. She was lucky, simple. She found a unique piece, she had the opportunities, she found the right people at the right time. But I’m sure there were people that tried the same things as her and didn’t achieve half the success. I’m positive that wasn’t because they didn’t want it or worked enough. I understand you want to be praised for your hard work or whatever, but I think a bit of humility would make this book a lot more relatable and, consequently, more inspirational. Besides, with the recent news of the store’s bankruptcy, this is all very ironic, to say the list. 

Anyway, this is a peculiar book but I think it is a good title for young girls to read since there’s something to take out of it.

Anyone here has read it?! Please let me know your thoughts!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

 

Leave a Reply

