Book Review #118 – My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins

Hello everyone!

I know it’s late and officially not Christmas time anymore but I want to post this review around this time anyway!

Here are my thoughts on My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins.

Get this book from Book Depository

my-true-love-gave-to-me

Synopsis: 

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or Kwanzaa, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons to stay indoors and fall in love.

 

Pros:

  • diverse in either holidays celebrated, characters, plots, genres

 

Cons:

  • some were just too odd

 

Verdict:

I feel like I was the only person not to read this book during last year’s holiday season but I decided to give it a change this one. Most authors are still pretty unknown to me so I only read it to, honestly, get in the mood. The best thing about it is how different all the stories are. Since this was edited by Stephanie Perkins, I guess I was just expecting contemporary romance. I wasn’t really expecting the fantasy stories but they were lovely surprises. My favourites ended up being Jenny Han (seriously, that woman is my achilles heel), with a story about a girl adopted by Santa Claus, with the honourable mentions of the one from Stephanie Perkins and Kiersten White, which both warmed my heart very much. But this is an anthology which means there’s always a couple of stories you just don’t like. I really disliked Myra McEntire’s, it was boring and overly christian morality giver. During Kelly Link and Laini Taylor’s I had absolutely no idea what was happening, but maybe listening to them (which is what I did) wasn’t the best format. Still, I thought this was a lovely holiday read, since it will definitely put you in the mood for the season, regardless of what you celebrate or don’t around this time of the year.

Have you read this book this holidays or did you end up just re-reading it to fill you with the season’s joy? Let me know what you think of it!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #118 – My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

