Graphic Novel/Manga Review #44 – Lumberjanes vol.1: Beware the Kitten Holy, by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters and Brooke A. Allen

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for one of my new favourites. It’s Lumberjanes vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy, by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters and Brooke A. Allen

Get this title from Book Depository

lumberjanes_cover

Synopsis:

FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX!

At Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp for hard-core lady-types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are five rad, butt-kicking best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… And they’re not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! The mystery keeps getting bigger, and it all begins here.

Collects Lumberjanes No. 1-4.

 

Pros:

  • funny, fearless, different girls
  • supernatural + mystery
  • gorgeous art
  • so damn funny

 

Cons:

  • it has an end

 

Verdict:

I’ve been obsessing over Lumberjanes since I finished Nimona. But the chance to buy this book never came so I just swooned every time I saw something related to it. Until the day of my birthday and my boyfriend got me the portuguese edition! Oh man, it surpassed my expectations and believe me, they were high. I love the combination of supernatural and mystery, specially when they’re paired with a girl entourage and forest setting. Mal, Molly, Jo, Ripley and April are so different from each other but they totally compliment themselves and the story. They love and support each other so much, it’s beautiful. They are a wild and funny bunch, which makes the story 100x more interesting. I never thought I would enjoy the whole girl camp setting but it’s really great. The colour palette it gives to the whole comic is gorgeous. I’m super excited to spend more time with these girls and discover bits and bits of them and the mystery. Hopefully volume two will come out in portuguese soon as well.

Any fans of Lumberjanes out there? Does this series continue to be as great as it is in volume one? Let me know!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

