Book Review #120 – The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories, by H. P. Lovecraf

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories, by H. P. Lovecraft.

IMG_1925

Synopsis:

H P Lovecraft is credited with reinventing the horror genre in the twentieth century. In this volume, Lovecraft’s preeminent interpreter, S T Joshi, presents a selection of the master’s fiction. These stories reveal the development of Lovecraft’s mesmerizing narrative style and establish him as a canonical – and visionary – American writer.

 

Pros:

  • great fantasy/horror

 

Cons:

  • so damn racist

 

Verdict:

Well, I have no idea what to say about this. I debated some time whether or not I should review thins but I’ll gladly do it so you’ll know not to pick Lovecraft’s work and why. It was disappointing to say the least, although I can see its merit. I mean, the horror and fantasy aspects of all the stories I’ve read were amazing. They are creepy and unsettling mostly, you can’t really be indifferent about them. But that’s nothing short of what I was imagining. What surprised me is how freaking racist Lovecraft was. I knew little about him, past his contribution to modern pulp and horror stories. This is a very good edition, with plenty of notes and references and the author’s prejudice is mentioned there several times. I just didn’t think it would be that evident. Any mentioned to someone not white (black, jew, etc) is followed with some remark of inferiority. There’s even a character from a story that has a black cat called N*gger-man… Yeah… I was stunned. Even if I did like some stories a lot, I just couldn’t and won’t enjoy this author as much as I expected. And I won’t be recommending his work anytime soon. So, stay away from it. It’s really cringy most times. 

Anyway, have any of you read his work and felt the same? Please let me know!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

