Book Review #121 – Bloodline, by Claudia Gray

Hello everyone!

Here is my review of Bloodline, by Claudia Gray. Enjoy!

Get this from Book Depository

635900083787650887-9780345511362

Synopsis:

Witness the birth of the Resistance
When the Rebellion defeated the Empire in the skies above Endor, Leia Organa believed it was the beginning to a lasting peace. But after decades of vicious infighting and partisan gridlock in the New Republic Senate, that hope seems like a distant memory.

Now a respected senator, Leia must grapple with the dangers that threaten to cripple the fledgling democracy—from both within and without. Underworld kingpins, treacherous politicians, and Imperial loyalists are sowing chaos in the galaxy. Desperate to take action, senators are calling for the election of a First Senator. It is their hope that this influential post will bring strong leadership to a divided galaxy.

As the daughter of Darth Vader, Leia faces with distrust the prospect of any one person holding such a powerful position—even when supporters suggest Leia herself for the job. But a new enemy may make this path Leia’s only option. For at the edges of the galaxy, a mysterious threat is growing…

 

Pros:

  • Star Wars, duh
  • focus on one of my favourite characters, Leia
  • Gray’s amazing cinematic writing style
  • the cameos
  • the feelings whenever Ben Solo was mentioned

 

Cons:

  • I expected more tie ins with The Force Awakens
  • a bit more political than I was expecting

 

Verdict:

Guys, I am OBSESSED with the Claudia Gray’s Star Wars books. They are incredible. Of course that my love for the movies extends a bit to other mediums but nevertheless I really think these books are amazing. The author is incredible. She has this visual kind of style, where she gives you all the elements to completely imagine the story and the characters in your head without being bored to death. She is a truly amazing writer, in my opinion. Besides, it’s not easy to pick on pre-existing characters and making them sound like themselves. Kudos to Gray, seriously. The plot she actually chose, although more political than I would like, it’s really interesting. There’s action and more slow parts. There’s references to older events and other characters in the story and those swell my heart. I cried every time my baby Ben Solo was mentioned, although I wanted to see more of him and Luke. There’s Leia and Han being all cute so I’m pleased. I kept forgetting this was released before Episode VII came out, so of course it couldn’t hint too much on what could happen in the movie (but, thinking about it, it kinda says a lot already) but I wanted a bit more. It makes no sense in real life but I can’t help but feel a bit disappointed. This isn’t a disappointing read altogether though. I feel like it may not be as much of a good read for non Star Wars fans, like I felt Lost Stars was, but it’s an amazing book for anyone already immersed in the movies, like myself!

Has anyone read this book? I’m very interested in knowing what you thought!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

