ARC | Book Review #124 – Rebel of the Sands, by Alwyn Hamilton

Hello hello!

Here is my review for Rebel of the Sands, by Alwyn Hamilton.

Get this title from Book Depository

9780571325252

Synopsis:

Sold immediately at auction across the world, this phenomenal novel is the first in a trilogy packed with shooting contests, train robberies, festivals under the stars, powerful Djinni magic and an electrifying love story.ย This promises to be a global super lead.

“Tell me that and we’ll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that’s how you want your story to go and we’ll write it straight across the sand.”

Dustwalk is Amani’s home.

The desert sand is in her bones.

But she wants to escape. More than a want. A need.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up to save her life, and with him the chance to run.

But to where?

The desert plains are full of danger. Sand and blood are swirling, and the Sultan’s enemies are on the rise.

 

Pros:

  • don’t really have anything good to say about it tbh

 

Cons:

  • based on stereotypes (both of westerns and middle easter culture)
  • so uninteresting
  • most character development happens off page
  • couldn’t make me care for even a second

 

Verdict:

Now that I think of it, it’s not like I’ve seen this book being praised, but it certainly made its way around the internet. So, when I saw an arc available at netgalley, I wanted to give it a try. But damn, this was not what I wanted and/or expected. There was just something about it that made it very meh fromย the start. I think it’s the writing but it was just impossible for me to care about anything happening. The main character did nothing for me, neither did her quest. She seems a bit too perfect, amazing at everything, literally the one that’s definitely a main character in a story. It doesn’t help that most character development happens off page. Sometimes it passes weeks and even months between chapters and the characters just act totally different around each other for no apparent reason, at least to which the readers knows about. This made me hate the relationship between the main character and her love interest. And it made it so hard to even know everyone’s names (hence why I can’t even mention one in this review). Sometimes someone was mention and I was like “who the hell is this person?! we weren’t introduced”. I got frustrated with this book a lot more than I enjoyed it. It didn’t help that any of the lore behind it was set on stereotypes. Of course there were saloons, and women are almost worth nothing, and foreigners taking control of a land and calling bs on their oppressor’s beliefs… It was too much for me. Besides, the mix between western and middle eastern culture didn’t work out together that much, in my honest opinion. Things happen in this book, and there’s plenty of action and shoot outs that should have made it interesting but, at the end, this was just a very meh read. But hey, maybe the problem is me and the book itself.

So, anyone has read this? What is your opinion? Let me know below!

Have a nice day,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

