Graphic Novel/Manga Review #45 – Through the Woods, by Emily Carroll

Hey guys!

Here is my review for one of my favourite reads of last year! It’s Through the Woods, by Emily Carroll.

Get this from Book Depository

91bldt8cbtl

Synopsis: 

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

 

Pros:

 

  • creepy short stories
  • very different from each other, either in plot itself or art
  • you’ll be so emerged, you won’t even notice time passing by

 

Cons:

  • endings were too abrupt/open to meaning be fully understood

 

Verdict:

I had a feeling this gorgeous book would be one of my new favourites the moment I knew of it. It took me two minutes of scanning the pages to really grasp that. I wanted to read it around Halloween time and, even though that wasn’t possible, it’s never wrong to read a book that will spook you. I’m not scared by books but I can definitely be creeped out and oh boy, is this one creepy! Some of the drawings are so messed up! One of my favourite things about this title was how the art is very similar but so different at the same time. Each kind of line or colour palette works beautifully with the story being told and it definitely adds value to the whole thing. My favourite story was “A Lady’s Hands Are Cold”. It literally gave me chills all the way. This is not only one of the prettiest books I own, but also one of the best. I feel like it’s one of those I’ll find myself reading when I needed to be reminded of the good things in the world.

Have any of you read this? Let me know what you thought, please!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

