Book Review #126 – Library of Souls, by Ransom Riggs

Hello hello!

Here’s my review for the last book I read in 2016! It’s Library of Souls, by Ransom Riggs.

Get this title from Book Depository

libraryofsouls_final_300dpi

Synopsis: 

The adventures that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued with Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls.

As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all.

Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography.

 

Pros:

  • more of my favourite peculiar children
  • still the same gorgeous magic feeling
  • very good photos to complement

 

Cons:

  • more slow than the previous titles
  • everything comes together a bit too perfectly

 

Verdict:

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children is one of those series that can have a lot of flaws but I still love with all my heart. I mentioned in my reviews for the first two books (Miss Peregrine and Hollow City) but there’s just something about the way the story and the characters are written that made me fall in love with it and never stop. These books make me feel warm inside and very, very happy. This last book is still all that. Even so, I found it a lot more slow and dragging than the other two. It felt like some parts could have easily drop a couple of pages and no meaning was lost. Not to talk about how, at the ending, everything comes together just perfectly. I don’t know what other kind of ending I could expect from a series like this one but it was understandable even if a bit predictable and underwhelming. Still, I was happy all through the 400 something pages of it and that is what is more important. It makes me sad to say goodbye to Jacob and the other peculiar, to this wonderful mix of photos and text but this story really had to come to an end here and for that I’m glad. Now I really want to get my hands on Tales of the Peculiar.

So, if you’ve already finished this series, did you enjoy it all? Share your opinions with me!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

