ARC | Book Review #127 – Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi

Hello everyone!

Today I’m bringing you the review of my favourite read of 2017 so far! It’s Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi.

Get this book from Book Depository

cover

Synopsis:

Effia and Esi: two sisters with two very different destinies. One sold into slavery; one a slave trader’s wife. The consequences of their fate reverberate through the generations that follow. Taking us from the Gold Coast of Africa to the cotton-picking plantations of Mississippi; from the missionary schools of Ghana to the dive bars of Harlem, spanning three continents and seven generations, Yaa Gyasi has written a miraculous novel – the intimate, gripping story of a brilliantly vivid cast of characters and through their lives the very story of America itself.

Epic in its canvas and intimate in its portraits, Homegoing is a searing and profound debut from a masterly new writer.

 

Pros:

  • the most wonderful debut I’ve read in a long time
  • wonderful writing
  • I love stories that follow a family through several generations
  • different stories of slavery
  • short story like segments kept the reading interesting and fun
  • super funny and heartbreaking at the same time

 

Cons:

  • although I understand the point of the ending, I guess I was expecting something a bit more epic

 

Verdict:

For starters, I might as well just do a disclaimer. This review will be a mess. Because I loved this book so much, I can’t say nothing objective about it to save my life. I’m just at awe. I knew this book getting a lot of hype in the more adult part of the book community but still, for some reason, I really didn’t have many expectations for it. Maybe it’s because I’m still iffy about historical fiction. But that definitely played in my love for the book. It’s just a lovely combination of many things I love. I’ve always had a thing with family epics that follow different generations. This isn’t at all something like One Hundred Years of Solitude but it has those same chain events, legacy and weight. I also loved how this is told in short story format. I think it might be a turn off to some, because you never have as much development and facts about several aspects of the story. To me, it just worked. It helped me keep my interest in the book, by giving me a sense of discovery every time. It was exciting. I also loved how many different parts of slavery were showed. As a white person, it helped me learn something new and important to understand the struggles of identify and background from african and african american people. Although it’s not my place to say if this makes justice to stories lived, it seemed like a very sensitive and thoughtful portrait from the author. I also should mention Gyasi’s wonderful work. I still can’t believe this is a debut. The tone of the writing was one of my favourite things. it reminded me so much of a fable, or a children’s story, with all its repetitions of names instead of pronouns and lack of descriptions of the backgrounds. They weren’t really necessary. Gyasi’s grabs the little time she has with each story and makes the most of it. The stories are an array of genres and emotions. You will feel sad, and happy, and want to cry of joy or just revolt at some of the horrific things that happen. It’s a beautiful experience. But, if I did have to point something out that didn’t do that great for me, that would be the ending. I think I understand the point but I don’t know, I guess I was expecting something a big bigger, more epic perhaps. But maybe I’m just misreading it. Either way, this book is just wonderful and I cannot recommend it even further. Just go pick it up right now.

So, are you interested in reading this one? You really should.

See you soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “ARC | Book Review #127 – Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi

Leave a Reply

