ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #46 – Snotgirl Vol.1: Green Hair Don’t Care, by Bryan Lee O’Malley and Leslie Hung

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for one of my most anticipated reads of 2017! It’s Snotgirl Vol.1: Green Hair Don’t Care, by Bryan Lee O’Malley and Leslie Hung.

Pre-order this title from Book Depository

snotgirl-vol1_cvr

Synopsis:

Who is Lottie Person?
Is she a gorgeous, fun-loving social media star with a perfect life or a gross, allergy-ridden mess? Enter a world of snot, blood, and tears in this first collection from New York Times Best Seller Bryan Lee O’Malley (Scott PilgrimSeconds) and dazzling newcomer Leslie Hung!

CollectingSnotgirl 1-5

 

Pros:

  • weird, unlikable characters O’Malley has used us to
  • refreshing kind of story
  • gorgeous art and colour palette

 

Cons:

  • tries to do a little too much and ends up a bit scattered

 

Verdict:

Bryan Lee O’Malley is definitely one of my favourite writers/artists ever! Even though I was a bit meh about the whole synopsis for this, of course I was going to read it. And that was… well, an experience. Not meaning it in a bad way, not at all, but there’s definitely a lot of things happening. Some are really good and some could be a bit better. For starters, I really liked the themes. I never read a story about fashion bloggers. Maybe it’s a bit judgmental of me to say but it fitted perfectly with O’Malley’s unlikable characters. He has a way of making you kinda hate these people but also appreciate the good in them, even if it’s not a lot. Lottie is definitely a very terrible but like Scott Pilgrim, I’m pretty sure she’ll come around. Her friends are not too great, but they’re funny. Just O’Malley’s style, of course. My biggest problem with it was the story itself. This comics tries to do a lot of things and mix a lot of genres. It seems like an off beat teen movie and then it’s a triller and then some psychological horror. If I were to describe it, the first thing that comes to my mind is a more relaxed and teen version of Memento. Which sounds just as odd as it really is. I felt like the story never really committed to anything and, for a first volume, it didn’t tease me enough of the whole story. It’s definitely a slow building, since pretty much nothing happens between the first issue and the last that make this volume one. It wasn’t anything major to me, because I enjoyed the middle as well, but I can see it being a bigger problem to some. I guess it’s one of those stories where you just have to roll with it while reading and then take your own conclusions after you’ve had some time to digest it. Another thing I was on the fence about before starting was the art. I really love O’Malley’s style but now, after having read Snotgirl, I’m super happy he just wrote and did covers. His drawings were probably too cartoonish for this kind of story and would have made it a totally different thing. I really liked Hung’s work. It’s not necessarily realistic because it’s also really manga-ish but I loved how it worked with the story. She did a killer job on the outfits and the color palette. I wasn’t familiar with her work before but I’ll definitely keep her in my radar from now on.

Anyway, although this is a real weird read, I would definitely recommend it. Just go with the flow! But I’m a huge Bryan Lee O’Malley fan so I might be a tiny bit biased.

Did you have this comic in your read list? Are you following it as it comes out in single issues? Let me know!

Thank you for reading and until next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

