Book Review #128 -The Princess Diarist, by Carrie Fisher

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for my first read of 2017! It’s The Princess Diarist, by Carrie Fisher.

Get this title from Book Depository

princess-diarist

Synopsis:

The Princess Diarist is Carrie Fisher’s intimate, hilarious and revealing recollection of what happened behind the scenes on one of the most famous film sets of all time, the first Star Wars movie. Named a PEOPLE Magazine Best Book of Fall 2016.

When Carrie Fisher recently discovered the journals she kept during the filming of the first Star Wars movie, she was astonished to see what they had preserved—plaintive love poems, unbridled musings with youthful naiveté, and a vulnerability that she barely recognized. Today, her fame as an author, actress, and pop-culture icon is indisputable, but in 1977, Carrie Fisher was just a teenager with an all-consuming crush on her costar, Harrison Ford.

With these excerpts from her handwritten notebooks, The Princess Diarist is Fisher’s intimate and revealing recollection of what happened on one of the most famous film sets of all time—and what developed behind the scenes. And today, as she reprises her most iconic role for the latest Star Wars trilogy, Fisher also ponders the joys and insanity of celebrity, and the absurdity of a life spawned by Hollywood royalty, only to be surpassed by her own outer-space royalty. Laugh-out-loud hilarious and endlessly quotable, The Princess Diarist brims with the candor and introspection of a diary while offering shrewd insight into the type of stardom that few will ever experience.

 

Pros:

  • Carrie Fisher’s humour
  • Carrie Fisher’s incredible writing
  • personal insight on the filming of the first Star Wars movie

 

Cons:

  • it can be a bit sad considering Carrie’s sudden death

 

Verdict:

A few days after Christmas, I was surprised to learn of Carrie Fisher’s passing. Star Wars is one of my favourite things in the world, that’s no secret, but I really loved Fisher as a person. In 2016 I started reading her books and actually knowing how she showed herself to the world. She really became my hero and my inspiration. Losing her hit me more than I was expecting but I guess I just wasn’t prepared. And, as much as I knew it was going to hurt, I wanted The Princess Diarist to be my first read of 2017. This is an absolutely mandatory read for all the Star Wars fans all there. My favourite story was about the casting process. It felt as much of a surreal experience as I’m sure it felt to Carrie. And, of course, the thing everyone’s talking about: Carrison. The inner gossiper in me wanted more juicy details but I’m glad it was all kept in good taste. The chapter and the direct diary entry were such a good representative of Fisher as a person. When she is, in the present, looking back, she has this very funny and not serious approach on the whole affair (like she has on everything, really) but when the 19 year old Carrie comes to play, you can see how much she felt the thing. And how good of a writer she was at a still young age. Her descriptions of Harrison’s charm hit me hard, because damn, he really was striking. Even if this was an incredibly bittersweet read, I really loved it. I’m glad Carrie got to share a little bit more of her Star Wars experience with us all.

Have you guys read this already? I’m slowing powering through her books. I also recently read another of her titles and will share my opinion soon.

Until next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

