Book Review #132 -Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones

Hey everyone!

Here is my review of Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones.

Get this title from Book Depository

c060f462b4613f6d50f41dc217f9b0ac

Synopsis:

“How about making a bargain with me?” said the demon. “I’ll break your spell if you agree to break this contact I’m under.”

In the land of Ingary, where seven-league boots and cloaks of invisibility really exist, Sophie Hatter attracts the unwelcome attention of the Witch of the Waste, who puts a curse on her. Determined to make the best of things, Sophie travels to the one place where she might get help – the moving castle which hovers on the nearby hills.

But the castle belongs to the dreaded Wizard Howl whose appetite, they say, is satisfied only by the hearts of young girls…

 

Pros:

  • so silly
  • so funny
  • the magic and the characters were lovely

 

Cons:

  • the english used is a bit odd
  • the story can be confusing to follow at times

 

Verdict:

I’m a big fan of Studio Ghibli since I first became obsessed with animation. One of its great movies is Howl’s Moving Castle so, after learning about the book and how it is loved, I needed it. I do need to revisit the movie because I can’t remember it very well, even after seeing it many times in the past. I couldn’t help but draw comparisons either way, and the two pieces of work did seem very different. Writing wise, it was a bit hard to get into the way the story is told and the language used. Especially as a non native of english, some parts were confusing and I needed it to re-read them a couple of times. But I also think that’s one of the book’s most distinctive qualities. It’s not like all the middle grade books you read constantly. It’s quirky and the magic is so peculiar and lovely. The characters are so different and particular, it’s actually so much fun to see how they all fit into the narrative. Although this is a widely loved book, I can see it being more appreciated by children. Some adults might be a little too cynical to enjoy this but, even with that, I would recommend it because I can also see it bringing a bit of joy to a darker world. It’s delightfully odd!

Any fans of this book out there? I plan on reading the other books in this series, although I know they don’t follow these same characters!

Until next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #132 -Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones

Leave a Reply

