ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #47 – Angel Catbird, Vol.2: To Castle Catula, by Margaret Atwood, Johnnie Christmas and Tamra Bonvillain

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for the latest trade paperback of Atwood’s bunkers new series. It’s Angel Catbird, Vol.2: To Castle Catula, by Margaret Atwood, Johnnie Christmas and Tamra Bonvillain.

460854._SX1280_QL80_TTD_

Synopsis:

The cat-centric adventure continues, in the all-ages follow-up to best-selling novelist Margaret Atwood’s debut graphic novel. Genetic engineer Strig Feleedus, also known as Angel Catbird, and his band of half-cats head to Castle Catula to seek allies as the war between cats and rats escalates.
Margaret Atwood, the respected, worldwide best-selling novelist, and acclaimed artist Johnnie Christmas continue their action-packed adventure!

 

Pros:

  • bunkers
  • so many cat puns
  • Christmas is a terrific artist

 

Cons:

  • if you weren’t sold on the weirdness in the first volume, you won’t now either
  • only, like, three things happen in 100 and something pages
  • second book syndrome

 

Verdict:

Ah, Angel Catbird… It can’t get weirder than this. If you’ve read the first instalment of this series (you can also read my review here) you get what I’m saying. This is as weird as it sounds. And it gets even more campy in this second volume. The puns are there as well as the cat divinities. It’s a crazy ride! But it’s not as pleasant as it could have been. Literally three things of relevance to the plot happen through the book. The rest is just unnecessary filler. As much as I love the cat puns, this got boring after a while. And how you can expect a book about a half human, half cat, half bird (yes, three halves)(also, I stole that joke from G. Willow Wilson’s preface, sorry) to be boring? Unfortunately, I was expecting a bit more from this title and I wasn’t satisfied. I know Atwood can write like crazy and I just didn’t feel it here. I know she’s there, with all the jokes and craziness but there’s something missing. I don’t think this is the book for everyone: it’s weird in themes and plot and even art. And I get why it isn’t as successful as it was expected to be. It’s too strange to be everyone’s cup of tea. You can never take anything here seriously. But I love that. It’s so different from everything else I read. So, yeah, I’ll still read the next volume. Please don’t let me down, Atwood, Christmas and Bonnevillain.

So, anyone has given this series a shot? What did you think?

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

