Manga/Graphic Novel Review #49 – Batgirl Vol.3: Mindfields, by Cameron Stewart, Brendan Fletcher and Babs Tarr

Hello everyone!

Here is my review for Batgirl Vol.3: Mindfields, by Cameron Stewart, Brendan Fletcher and Babs Tarr. Enjoy!

Get this title here

Batgirl-47

Pros:

  • Barbara is really becoming my favourite super hero ever
  • the art is amazing
  • best villain character design

 

Cons:

  • wouldn’t hurt if the plots weren’t always so confusing
  • so sad to see Stewart, Fletcher and Tarr go

 

Verdict:

It was in this Batgirl run that I found one of my favourite comic book heroes. Barbara Gordon is everything to me. She’s cute, badass, mega intelligent and fashionable. Everything I ever wished to be, honestly. It was bittersweet to read this volume, since it’s the last from my dream team. However, a few less good things never changed throughout the issues. The plot was always overcomplicated and confusing. Barbara is very very smart so, naturally, her stories always revolved around super machines and tech. Sometimes, it was easier to follow but honestly, there were times I had no idea what was going on. Babs always was able to pull it off but sometimes, it was just annoying to deal with this. Although Babs and the art will probably be the things I’ll miss the most, I have to say I’ll miss Dinah and Frankie as well. The three of them made a badass girl gang. I really hope they get Tarr to do more and more comics because I’ll miss her colourful and absolutely adorable work on Batgirl. Everyone involved did a pretty good job, not perfect, but incredible enough to mark me for a long long time.

Did any of you follow this run? What did you think of it? Let me know!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

