Book Review #134 – Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo

Hey everyone!

Here is a much awaited review! It’s Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo.

Get this title from Book Depository

leigh-bardugo-six-of-crows-new-book-01

Pros:

  • very exciting and fun to read
  • great individual characters
  • different

 

Cons:

  • too cliché at times
  • characters’ relationships don’t seem that real at times
  • too much backstory

 

Verdict:

Oh yay, I finally can drop the title of “last person to have read Six of Crows”! It took a while but I finally did it. I must say that my high hopes definitely hurt my reading experience. This book seems to have so little bad opinions, it was kinda hard not to actually try to convince myself to love this one. And that I couldn’t. Even with that said, I really liked it. Not mindblowing but by no means a bad book. In fact, it was the most fun book I’ve read in a while, without a doubt. The heist thing was really interesting to explore in a book. I’ve always appreciated heist movies and it felt really nice to see it developed here. But, unfortunately, I felt like too many of this genre’s tropes were used here. The whole “I’m a traitor. Oh wait, no I’m not, this was all part of the plan” got a bit boring and so predictable after the first few times. Other uses of tropes I really enjoyed, like the many many explosions and shoot outs. Something that surprised me was how actually pretty much half of the book is backstory. All the characters have something about themselves that should be told, and against that nothing, because I was at times more invested in that than the actual story *cof* Kaz *cof*. But then it left so little time to the actual heist to be described in ways there were no doubts about it. At times, I wasn’t really sure what exactly was happening and that kinda sucked. I also felt like some of these backstories served as to give a little depth to some of the character’s relations, but I’m not sure that really came through. I wasn’t a big fan of the Nina and Matthias story (well, I really didn’t like Matthias at all). His aggressiveness made me uncomfortable at times even, even if I see and understand the exploration of facing prejudices Bardugo was trying to do. Jesper’s didn’t really bring anything that important to his character and I wanted a bit more out of Inej and Kaz’s. Although I’m sure I’ll have that in Crooked Kingdom. Even if I wasn’t blown away by this, I have to say that some things were really cool. Like Inej. I loved her. I like my girls murderous but still soft and she was that. Definitely the highlight of this book. This cannot stand alone though. I felt like, if I haven’t read the Grisha Trilogy first, I would be really confused with the world and all it’s lore. But Bardugo’s writing was so good! I feel like here, she really found her voice and style. She seems really confident in her use of words, it shows in this work.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #134 – Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

