ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #51 – Jonesy, Vol.1 by Sam Humphries, Caitlin Rose Boyle and Mickey Quinn

Hey everyone!

Here is another graphic novel review. This time is Jonesy Vol.1 , by Sam Humphries, Caitlin Rose Boyle and Mickey Quinn.

Get this title from Book Depository

Jonesy_001_A_Main-666x1024.jpg

Synopsis:

A sarcastic teenager with the powers of cupid unleashes her preternatural matchmaking abilities on her school with hilarious and charming results.

Jonesy is a self-described “cool dork” who spends her time making zines nobody reads, watching anime, and listening to riot grrrl bands and 1D simultaneously. But she has a secret nobody knows. She has the power to make people fall in love! Anyone. With anything. She’s a cupid in plaid. With a Tumblr. There’s only one catch—it doesn’t work on herself. She’s gonna have to find love the old-fashioned way, and in the meantime, figure out how to distract herself from the real emotions she inevitably has to face when her powers go wrong…

Written by Sam Humphries and illustrated by Caitlin Rose Boyle, this charming tale is sure to appeal to romantics and cynics alike.

 

Pros:

  • cute af (both art and even the story, sometimes)
  • the donut puns

 

Cons:

  • I didn’t really understand Jonesy
  • maybe my mood at the time just wasn’t the right one for this book

 

Verdict:

I’ve seen this comic around since I’m usually a big fan of BOOM!’s title. The cover was super cute so I wanted to read. But I did do some research before starting it and I was kinda surprised by the amount of bad reviews. It was clear that this title just wasn’t for everyone. And I’m kinda sure I would personally have enjoy it a lot more if I wasn’t going through so much shit in my personal life. Jonesy is just an angsty and down character. Actually, I think we have similar personalities expect I get sad more often. She hates everything and everyone. And that can be fun and it definitely brings some interesting outcomes to the plot but sometimes it’s just annoying. There were some good things about this and I loved them. For starters, the art! It’s super cute and I love all the characters’ designs. I love how they were all diverse in terms of sexualities and race. And they had all some good outfits and hair colors! Plus, Jonesy’s dad and all the donut puns made my day. In fact, this is a feel good comic and actually really funny and happy. Ultimately, I just wasn’t in the right mindset for this (or for the character of Jonesy, particularly), otherwise I would most likely have loved it. I’m sure I will continue this series, if that’s the case.

Have you heard of this one? Let me know!

See you soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

