Manga/Graphic Novel Review #52 – Zodiac Starforce by Kevin Pancetta and Paulina Ganucheau

Hello guys!

Here is my review for the most gorgeous graphic novel ever! It’s Zodiac Starforce by Kevin Pancetta and Paulina Ganucheau.

Get this title from Book Depository

tumblr_nnkz51yr2h1sp8i91o1_500

Synopsis:

They’re an elite group of teenage girls with magical powers who have sworn to protect our planet against dark creatures . . . as long as they can get out of class! Known as the Zodiac Starforce, these high-school girls aren’t just combating math tests. They’re also battling monsters–not your typical afterschool activity! But when an evil force from another dimension infects team leader Emma, she must work with her team of magically powered friends to save herself–and the world–from the evil Diana and her mean-girl minions!

From Kevin Panetta (Bravest Warriors) and Paulina Ganucheau (TMNT: New Animated Adventures, Bravest Warriors), this super-fun and heartfelt story of growing up and friendship–with plenty of magical-girl fighting action–delivers the most exciting new ensemble cast in comics!

 

 

Pros:

  • magical girls
  • gorgeous friendships
  • diverse main and secondary characters
  • the colours!!!

 

Cons:

  • not totally sure about how this starts like, after they got their powers and first mission

 

Verdict:

Magical girls is basically my favourite trope of all time. I aspire to devour everything on that genre. When everyone was raving about it, I just had to get it. The cover really appealed to me. I love the colours scheme and the art itself is just gorgeous. That continues throughout the whole book and I feel like it’s a big part on the greatness of it. I also thought the incorporation of the zodiac element was really interesting. I have mixed feelings on astrology and the significance of that in a person’s personality but in this one, I found it fun how each scout has those different traits and how they play together to form a good team. Their relationships were everything to me. What beautiful friendships! Also, there’s a bisexual girl and although there’s no actual use of the word, I really enjoyed seeing it. The only thing that threw me off was how the story is set a while after they got their powers and their first big adventure. I know that was done to create more intrigue and mystery but at times, the sensation the reader can get is just confusion. I thought I might have missed some kind of prelude or anything. Anyway, this was super funny and lovely and BEAUTIFUL and I can’t even express how much I loved it, actually. 

Any fans of the lovely Zodiac ladies? You really should get to it, though!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

