Book Review #137 – Atonement, by Ian McEwan

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for Atonement, by Ian McEwan.

Get this title from Book Depository

760dfb9645a6426627bbbc2fd7cf9b92

Synopsis:

On the hottest day of the summer of 1935, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country house. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend who, like Cecilia, has recently come down from Cambridge.
By the end of that day, the lives of all three will have been changed for ever. Robbie and Cecilia will have crossed a boundary they had not even imagined at its start, and will have become victims of the younger girl’s imagination. Briony will have witnessed mysteries and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.

 

Pros:

  • very beautiful writing
  • entertaining after the first part
  • very interesting topic
  • a book set during World War II and not actually just about that
  • that ending

 

Cons:

  • the first part, which actually just expands over like two days or three, takes about half of the book and starts getting a little boring after a few pages

 

Verdict:

This was one of those books everyone loved and I ended up getting without THAT much interest in it. But after I bought it, I got the urge to read it and I’m glad I did. I already watched the movie before but I did feel like it played on how I perceived the most of this book. I think it would have been easier for me to not draw comparisons, and most importantly, be emerged in the plot. I had some problems reading through the first part. It takes place in just a span of a few days but it also takes up quite a big chunk of the book. It’s basically just the sames events told from three different perspectives. That was, by far, the most difficult thing. But if you can get past that part, the rest will be a breeze. And you’ll love it. At least I did. It was interesting to see how Briony dealt with herself and her guilt. And I won’t spoil the ending, but it was brutal and it will left you wondering. Was she really atoned? Was it enough? I don’t know, to be honest.

Have any of you read this title? Thoughts? Please share.

See you next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

