ARC | Book Review #141 – Ramona Blue, by Julie Murphy

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for Ramona Blue, by Julie Murphy.

Get the book from Book Depository

f47ecc50-707c-0134-187e-060e3e89e053

Synopsis:

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson comes this sharp and thought-provoking novel about modern love, family, and the labels that we just can’t seem to escape—from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever. Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. One of only two out lesbians in her small town and standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the responsible adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, her responsibilities weigh more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

As Ramona falls more in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift as well, and she must decide if knowing who she is is more important than figuring out who she might become.

 

Pros:

  • fluid sexuality!!!
  • lovely, summer-y, american story

 

Cons:

  • some of the writing choices weren’t particularly my favourite

 

Verdict:

A few months ago, when the synopsis of this book was released, there was a lot of backlash. People read it as a story of a lesbian girl “turned” straight. Of course, that erases the whole idea that BISEXUALITY AND PANSEXUALITY ARE A THING. But anyway, as a bi girl, I had to read this book. And let me tell you, it was so so lovely. The story is so important. It NEVER erases the fact that Ramona likes girls and that that makes part of her, always. The fact that she starts feeling something for a boy is confusing but it doesn’t change her past experiences. It was lovely. You may think the contrary is the default, that a girl that thought she was straight starts liking a girl. And that’s equally valid but it’s not the only option. It’s stupid to think so. Sexuality isn’t a written in stone thing, I’m not sure how it’s so hard to comprehend. Ramona isn’t a slut or just wants to have sex with everyone. I liked how she doesn’t end up giving herself a label. She likes whoever. They can end up being girls or boys. And that’s beautiful. Also, this doesn’t particularly just about that. There’s a million other things happening, which I loved. There’s young pregnancy, swimming and even a few talks about racial issues. Some writing choices I wasn’t really into, though. Like, how weirdly the time passed and was told. Most chapters started with “x weeks/days have passed since…” or something similar, and I found it a bit lazy. I tend to like more flourished writing and this was pretty simple and straightforward, so I guess it was normal for me not to enjoy as much. This is a pretty solid contemporary read, which isn’t really my genre, but I ended loving. It’s a perfect book for a summer and it really captures the essence of the south of the USA (or it seemed).

This book comes out soo, so make sure you pre-order it! It’s so good!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC | Book Review #141 – Ramona Blue, by Julie Murphy

  1. Whew, I’m so glad to hear that you liked it! I’ve been wanting to read this book, but got nervous because of the original synopsis and everything. I’m glad to hear that’s not the case!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s