Manga/Graphic Novel Review #54 – Princess Leia, by Mark Waid, Terry Dodson, Rachel Dodson and Jordie Bellaire

Hey everyone!

May the fourth be with you! To celebrate, here is my review for Princess Leia, by Mark Waid, Terry Dodson, Rachel Dodson and Jordie Bellaire.

Get the book here

Princess_Leia_Trade_Paperback_Final_Cover

Synopsis:

When Princess Leia Organa was captured by the Empire, she never betrayed her convictions – even after the complete destruction of her home world, Alderaan. When her rescue came, Leia grabbed a blaster and joined the fight, escaping back to the Rebel Alliance and helping strike the biggest blow against the Empire – the destruction of the Death Star! But in the aftermath of that victory, the question remains…what is a princess without a world? As Leia comes to grips with her loss, a new mission leads her to the underground world of Sullust. The Empire is rounding up fugitive Alderaanians, and that doesn’t sit well with their Princess! But what can one woman do against the Galactic Empire? They’re about to find out! Join the galaxy’s toughest Princess on a quest to save her people and rebuild her life!

 

Pros:

  • my favourite character, Leia
  • beautiful female friendship between her and Evaan
  • I also like the mission overall

 

Cons:

  • expected something a bit more epic from Leia

 

Verdict:

I’ve been wanting to read this Leia comic since forever especially because it’s a stand alone. When does this happen with comics? Literally never. Besides, I love Leia and just an excuse to make me have more of her will get my money flying from my wallet. I just love her so much. She’s such an amazing character. And this quest for Alderlaan’s children and everything she goes through for that makes her even more awesome. But the highlight of this whole thing is her relationship with Evaan. They go from almost not standing each other to the most supportive and truthful relationship! Girls being there for each other makes my world go around. I really hope Evaan makes an appearance in The Last Jedi (and I hope she’s Laura Dern’s character!!!), I will literally die. But I have to admit I was a tad bit disappointed in this. Maybe it was all my hype and my expectations but I was expecting something a bit more epic or grand from this. I mean, it’s big and it’s heartwarming but it felt lacking at times. Unfortunately, this comic make me miss Carrie Fisher a little bit more. Still happy this exists and that I got to read it!

Have you read this or any of the other stand alone Star Wars comics? Please share with my your thoughts on them!

Until next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

