Manga/Graphic Novel Review #55 – The Unbelievable Gweenpool Vol.1: Believe it by Christopher Hastings, Danilo Beyruth, Gurihiru and Tamra Bonvillain

Hello hello!

Here is my review for an… interesting comic book! It’s The Unbelievable Gweenpool Vol.1: Believe it by Christopher Hastings, Danilo Beyruth, Gurihiru and Tamra Bonvillain.

Get this title from Book Depository

The_Unbelievable_Gwenpool_1_Cover

Synopsis:

2015’s overnight internet sensation takes center stage in her own series!

Gwen Poole used to be a comic book reader just like you…until she woke up in a world where the characters she read about seemed to be real! But that can’t be, right? This must all be fake, or a dream or something, right? And you know what that means…NO CONSEQUENCES!

Could Gwenpool truly be Marvel’s least responsible and least role-modely character to date? She can if she tries!

 

Pros:

  • not as “bad” as I was expecting
  • the cameos
  • I actually laughed sometimes
  • adorable art

 

Cons:

  • I still can’t stand most Deadpool’s character traits, even in this adorable and pink version

 

Verdict:

I really hate Deadpool. Like, I HATE him. I can’t stand the jokes or his personality or even the kind of plot he brings himself into. So, why did I decided to give Gweenpool a chance? I tell you, reader, not even I know. It was just one of those spur of the moment reads. At first, I was rolling my eyes as much as I expected. Gwen and her jokes were more of what Deadpool already gives. But, as time passed, I warmed up to her. She’s just a displaced gal that is trying to deal with things with as many humour as possible. If I found myself in an alternative reality, I wouldn’t have any sense of humour like she has. As pain starts to take a toll on her, I started to like her. And she’s nuts and cute enough to make the ride bearable. The plot of this volume isn’t anything special, although it isn’t necessarily boring to read. There’s a lot of cameos too. I loved Doctor Strange’s since it made this even more meta than it was already it. Anyway, even if I didn’t hate this as I was expecting, I wasn’t particularly over the moon by it either. I might give the next volume a chance at some other time but it’s not my top priority at the time.

Do you like Gwenpool? Or even Deadpool? Talk to me!

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

