Manga/Graphic Novel Review #56 – Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic, by Alison Bechdel

Hey guys.

Here it is my review for Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic, by Alison Bechdel.

Get this title from Book Depository

81VWEyQoyrL

Synopsis:

In this graphic memoir, Alison Bechdel charts her fraught relationship with her late father.

Distant and exacting, Bruce Bechdel was an English teacher and director of the town funeral home, which Alison and her family referred to as the “Fun Home.” It was not until college that Alison, who had recently come out as a lesbian, discovered that her father was also gay. A few weeks after this revelation, he was dead, leaving a legacy of mystery for his daughter to resolve.

 

Pros:

  • heartfelt and deep analysis on own family and self that I could never
  • simple and beautiful art

 

Cons:

  • can be a bit uncomfortable to read at times
  • the use of so many literary comparisons can be alienating too
  • uses so many homophobic slurs

 

Verdict:

When I started this one, I wasn’t expecting it to be as real and deep as it was. It took me some time to digest it but I know feel that I can talk a little more coherently about it. It was hard at first. This book is a take on personal life and experiences that I could never do myself. It’s so analytical and almost unbiased, although I know that’s almost impossible. At times it even felt like it was almost intrusive of me to be reading such personal things. The best books, for me, are the ones that make you feel something on the spot and this one definitely did. It was interesting and touching. I loved the simple art and how it completed the story. The only thing I’m more effy about it is how much it draws comparisons between the events and plots of other books, specially classics. I only knew the titles of a few, much less the plot and how that could play out with this particular story. But I’ve heard this is a thing about her work. Except that, this will be a book I’ll be very much recommending. It’s an experience and it’s definitely not for everyone, but it will count as something for sure.

Before this, I only had hear of Bechdel because of the Bechdel test but this was a nice discovery. Have you read it?

Until soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

