Book Review #148 – Glass Sword, by Victoria Aveyard

Hey guys!

Here is my review for Glass Sword, by Victoria Aveyard.

Get this title from Book Depository

51791fac06ad83b1f20c93afe76b15dbe0df3b81

Synopsis:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare’s blood is red – the colour of common folk – but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from the prince and friend who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by the Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red and Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

 

Pros:

  • the two things that happen through these 460+ pages are actually interesting

 

Cons:

  • second book syndrome
  • actually boring
  • Mare’s martyr attitude was impossible to not get on my nerves at some point
  • kinda forgetful

 

Verdict:

Oh boy, what was this book?! The more I think about it, the more I start to dislike it and cry for wasting my time. I know a lot of people (hell, most people that actually read this book, in fact) that hated this one. But since I also feel like most of them weren’t into Red Queen like I was (my review can be found here), I was on the fence to believe in them. But yeah, they were right… This book is the biggest second book syndrome ever. Literally two things of relevance happen and they’re in the beginning and end. The middle is just so forgetful and boring. I was into the whole premise but it just took a downturn in this one. Besides, Mare was kinda the worst. If we weren’t so much in her head the whole time, she could be bearable. But not like this. She was always feeling sorry for herself and what was happening to her. I’m much like her, let’s be honest, but it was tiring to having to deal with my shit and hers in this. Besides, she thinks she’s such a martyr when in fact most people around her have it much worse? Lord give me patience to deal with this girl, really.

Anyway, should I continue this series? I’m still considering.

Until soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

