Manga/Graphic Novel Review #57 – The Wicked + The Divine, Vol.4: Rising Action, by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for The Wicked + The Divine, Vol.4: Rising Action, by  Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson.

Get this title from Book Depository

TheWickedAndTheDivine_vol4-1

Synopsis:

Every ninety years, twelve gods are reincarnated as young people. They are loved. They are hated. And sometimes – just sometimes – they fall into open Superstar wars.
The fourth volume of the award-winning, best selling series from acclaimed creators KIERON GILLEN, JAMIE McKELVIE and MATT WILSON is the most explosive yet.

 

Pros:

  • it’s not as terrible as the previous two volumes
  • actual important things for the plot happen

 

Cons:

  • it’s still confusing af, and unnecessarily complicated

 

Verdict:

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know how my relationship with this series has been… well, turbulent. I loved the first volume to death. The second was ok and the third was just probably one of the most terrible things I’ve ever read. But I like the premise of this series way too much to give up on it. The gods are amazing and I love their bickering. Also, I want to know the endgame. I’m so glad the original artist is back. I love his style so much. He does a great job with the characters’ designs and even with the violence and fights. I was also excited that this volume had a lot of action and plot development, finally!!! I still didn’t love it as I did the first volume but I found it interesting still.

Have you read this? Are you still a fan of it? Share your thoughts with me!

Until soon,
Cat.

Leave a Reply

